November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 12, 2001 // 10:15 p.m. // Looking back on past dances

First off, I don't know why the clock on my computer is so out of wack. It read 9:33 at 9:50. It's at the point where I'm changing the date and/or the time every day.

Secondly, I finally realized to get your email adress added to your page (and to give your page a title) you had to go into the new template page, not the change your email setup page. But you knew this, right? And I lost an entry because it didn't have a title.

G or B still haven't called. They're in Sandy, a good 10-45 (depending on if B or Gup are driving) minutes away. The scenerio may go like this: We'll go out to eat, likely at Wendy's possibly stopping by Baskin Robbins if it's open. Then, we'll fight with B about bowling, he'll refuse, and we'll give in to his whining. Then, we'll sit in the car until the wee hours of the morning, me having to sneak in to prevent my likely already awake mom. Yep. That happend last week, and the week before that. Any bets on whether tonight'll be different?

The real purpose of this entry was to reflect on a date etched in my mind. It wasn't until my sister asked the date that I realized that a) it's Saturday and the sale has ended on the CD-R's I wanted and b) six years ago on this date I had my first dance. There's no need to go into the details. Quite simple actually. In seventh grade, Jessica's friends asked me if I'd dance with her, I said sure, and we danced. I even remember what I wore that day. For the life of me, I can't remember the song. Later that day, that danced sparked Malinda to ask me, but seeing her as nothing more than an annoying volunteer from the museum, and being worried that my lack of reputation may further diminish, I declined. I saw her at the mall and a football game two years later, and she was much more attractive, and her attitude had changed. We talked both times, had fun, but I haven't seen her since.

For the second straight year, I want to say I'm sorry to Jessica for everything that went down in eighth grade, and that six years is a long time to hold onto the past.

Speaking of dances, I also remember being disappointed at missing last year's Sadie Hawkins, and begging the drama kids to help me find somebody to go with. The answer was right under my nose with a girl from my math class, but I didn't realize it until graduation night.

I remember printing up the tickets for the dance in graphics, and being the first to inform friends that it would be held outside in the courtyard due to repairs in the school's gym. The dance would be held inside after all, due to problems relating to kids sneaking in.

I drove up to school that night, reminicing on the previous year's Sadie Hawkins, and that year's prom. I remember feeling unwanted, and singing along to the CD I burned featuring a ton of indie rock ballads. Having bonded weeks earlier with the drama kids, I drove to all of the key locations where they hung out to talk to them. No such luck. Exhausted, I pulled up to my hous sometime after 1, recalled the events once more, and probably fell asleep. Who knows. I'd have to check my written journal for sure.

Ever have one of those days where someone enters your life from the past and brings back a flood of nostalga? That was today. And I learned so much today because of them.

Jas

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin