November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

August 20, 2001 // 6:19 p.m. // OK, Radiohead.

There are only two things I've never heard people say "I hate" about. One of them is the movie Gladiator. The other is Radiohead.

Having never seen Gladiator, I can't comment, but Radiohead on the other hand, is a different story.

I bought OK Computer like everyone else after hearing songs like Paranoid Android, No Surprises, and Karma Police, with the latter two being my favorites.

But I nearly freaked out when I saw every magazine and their second-generation alternative cousin praising this as not only the album of the year, but the album of the 20th century, and the millennium.

The milennium? Since we only have one century of recorded music, I guess you could say that, but to say that albums by The Beatles, even Elvis Presley aren't as good as this is unreal to me. All they did was shake things up a bit, and voila. They are suddenly filling the void left by Nirvana.

I like OK Computer. I like their singles from before that album. I like Thom Yorke's music, but what were they thinking with both Kid A and Amnesiac? Are they believing their own hype? I've only listened to each album once, and maybe it's an acquired taste, but to me both albums are just 60 minutes of mass confusion each. I'll listen to both albums tonight, and maybe I'll change my mind, but I'm not seeing it happening. Am I missing something?

Right now, these are the top 10 bands according to those listed in diaryland's user profiles.

1. Weezer

2. Radiohead

3. Blink 182

4. Limp Bizkit

5. Linkin Park

6. Tori Amos

7. Incubus

8. No Doubt

9. Nirvana

10. Destiny's Child

I'm a big Weezer fan. And as much as I can't stand the new TRL/teen'd up Blink, I have to admit their music hasn't changed through the years. The top nine show you that diaryland isn't necessarily dominated by a bunch of 16 year-old diaries. (though much of Utah's diaries are)

Random Garbage lyric:

"I will cry for you

I will cry for you

I will wash away your pain with all my tears

and drown your fears"

-#1 Crush (more like no. 1 obsession)

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin