November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 22, 2003 // 8:52 p.m. // It's all just a front to rant about expensive music

The big annual end of the year authors gala for the school I hope that the sentence "specially bound copies" reads so that the emphasized word is *specially* and not *bound*, because I'm really not up to the mag being pieces of paper stapled together. *Specially* bound copies vs. specially *bound* copies? I'm sure it won't be. I mean, it *can't* be. Our lit mag is excellent every year. It's not going to be on par with a junior high school production, but wouldn't it be funny if a 22,000 person university did pocket part of our tuition money and ran of 1,000 or so Kinko'd copies of our poems?

Maybe not so funny.

This whole special edition of the mag for those who attend the gala and pick it up right away is making me think about all of the special edition cd's that are coming out now with price tags that are just as high or even higher than they normally would be. Why don't the record labels (though I should blame this on the retailers) just cut the price instead of adding a DVD disc that costs them next to nothing? Why not forego the bonus items and just lower the price? Madonna's new album that just came out today has a $10-15 price difference between the regular album and the special edition which adds only stickers and a 23x35 poster. At least Tori Amos gave us a DVD, a map tied in with the album, a collectable charm and poloroid looking photos and the price difference wasn't nearly as much.

But I'm sure the Madonna poster is wicked cool.

(Note: This entire entry was a way to rant about record prices without devoting an entire entry to it. The whole "special edition lit mag" sparked it and I just had to go from there.)

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin