November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

August 18, 2004 // 5:34 p.m. // "And it's bad news, bad news, bad news"

In the last two days, I've been to Barnes & Noble, three Media Play's, two Best Buy's, a Circuit City, a Wherehouse music, Virgin Megastore, two Target's and even a Wal-Mart to track down Rilo Kiley's new album, which is being distributed by Warner Bros. That means *every* store in the city should have it.

But not a single one does. When I went to Media Play, I had the guy look it up, and he said 120 copies were being sent to the area, but that no stores have received them, because they haven't been shipped to them yet.

I got this when I searched the Best Buy stores:

I walked into this store today (our major indie record store) and as you can see if you click on the link, the Rilo Kiley album is their pick of the week on the main page. Out of desperation, I decided to try them.

Here's how the conversation went (because they *have* to have it, right?)

Me: Do you have Rilo Kiley's new album?

Him: I always forget which one that is.

Me: More Adventurous.

Him: If we don't have it out there, then we don't have it. I could try to order it for you, but I probably won't have any luck. It's not on our A-Z list, so it's not like it could come in any day. I could call another store-

Me: No thanks.

So a freakin' indie store that advertises it on their main page as their pick of the week doesn't plan to carry it. How does that make any sense? Like I said, 120 copies are being sent to the Salt Lake area, but none have shipped from the wherehouse as of yesterday, so no stores in the area have it and won't have it at the earliest until Friday. I think I'm just going to order it online. It'll take longer, but I'm just annoyed by stores. I've heard most of the album anyway, so I can wait.

I was glad to find that I wasn't the only one having problems. A few people in Portland, many in Texas and California, and a few back east have it in stores, but nobody anywhere else does. It's funny, because the release date was pushed back three weeks due to "distribution issues." As one of my friends said, "if things are this bad now, imagine how bad they would have been."

I remember I scoffed at the idea of pre-ordering it on their site, despite the chance at tickets, t-shirts and other prizes if you did so because the site implied that you may receive the CD late. And of course, they received it before the release date.

And didn't have to spend the cost of the CD on gas driving around the city.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin