January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

September 07, 2002 // 1:28 p.m. // On the brighter side of blue

It's only 1:07? You mean midday? Oh, my. Perhaps it's the gloom and overcast outside, but I could have swore it was closer to four.

I needed to make up for the rude awakenings I've had of the past two mornings, and decided that I'd drive to the park to play basketball. This lasted all of fifteen minutes until five other people came along, and we played an "old vs. young" game. It was fun to be out there playing in a game rather than just shooting by myself. Of course, I found a way to ruin it by first turning my ankle when I went in for a layup, and then realizing that I had locked my keys in the car. Amelia to the rescue. First she lets me use her basketball, now this. She's a lifesaver.

From there, I headed downtown to take photos. I complain and complain about this city, but I must say that I actually enjoy walking downtown. It was raining lightly. It was just warm enough so that you didn't need a jacket. I realized that our mayor's plan to revitalize downtown may not be working, but it sure is a lot better than it was years ago. Art on the sidewalks, banners on buildings, the new meeting the old. It all seems to come together. Salt Lake seems to have done a good thing with this.

In the middle of this photo trip, I headed into Borders. There was an attractive girl with a really uppity snobby guy. The best thing I could compare this to is the movie Cruel Intentions. This guy was dressed very Ryan Phillipe only in what I can best describe as a vintage British suit. I guess just think turn of the century. I don't know. He had an ascot and a trenchcoat, if that helps.

Anyway, he was behaving like the Sebastian character did toward Cecile (Selma Blair's character) too. Very demeaning to this poor girl. She'd walk over to him, without speaking but with a little one syllable laugh would point something out to him in a magazine, and he would simply ignore her. Not the way you ignore your friends when it's obvious that you're ignoring them. This was mean. He ignored her with his eyes and his expression. In fact, as the guy and I both looked at music magazines, she sat on the floor next to him. Just sat there. For at least ten minutes, because I went to a different part of the store. And before she sat there, he got the impression that she had begun to stand too close to me, so he stood inbetween us. This actually happened. No joke. I couldn't make this up if I tried.

Today worked for me. Pictures, paying closer attention to the city than I ever thought possible, some fun exercise, an ankle that still hurts, not believing my eyes and a conversation about Canadian currency with the Borders cashier. Oh yeah. Today rocked.

P.S. Our english assignments are due in less than 1 1/2 days, and only one member of our group has done some of them. 12 assignments between the four of us. We've done two.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin