January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 07, 2002 // 11:24 a.m. // April Lavigne? Doesn't have the same ring to it.

Ever wonder what it's like to actually have a conversation with Chantilli? I mean, not listening to her monologues, but to converse? It doesn't happen too often.

We stayed in the basement of the social science building after class for 35 minutes talking with another girl who is cool, but whose name I can't recall. She left, we followed, and the conversation began when I casually said that I'd give Chantilli a ride home. She didn't respond, I forgot about it, and it wasn't until we had been outside for five minutes that she said, "So. You're giving me a ride home then?"

So a conversation with Chantilli (abbreviated, of course) Her words are in white. And you'll also get to learn her real name:

(we get on the shuttle bus. She's speaking hurriedly and rushed.)

"Where should we sit?"

"Anywhere."

"But where?"

"Just anywhere." She passed three rows of seats before sitting down by the window.

"Not too shuttle bus literate, are you?"

"No. I've only taken it once." (Michelle Branch/Santana song is on the radio)

"I can't fully grasp this song. I'm a very literal person. So the only songs I can understand are those that are very literal. Like that 'Sk8er Boi.' song.

(gasps) "I love that song. There aren't a lot of April's in the spotlight. It can only help, right?"

I look at her and respond with a nod. I just know that her confusing, "Avril" with "April" is going to make this conversation enjoyable. And I've known more April's than Avril's.

"But she's always got her tongue out and is kicking the camera in every picture you see of her."

"True, but April Lavigne isn't that bad. April isn't into the whole being a pop star and conforming. And maybe she'll make a difference or something."

"She's a 17 year-old Canadian pop star. I don't think she's going to make a difference. She's not going to be the next Alanis. I don't really like Sk8er Boi."

"Sk8er Boi is catchy. It's like me, but in reverse."

"Yeah, but 'skater boy/see ya later boy?' Those aren't the greatest lyrics. That's why we don't let pop stars write their own songs."

I said this jokingly, but her mouth was agape for the remaining minute of the shuttle ride. I should have never insulted "Sk8er Boi."

I continued, "not like I could do any better. I couldn't even write that." And of course, "Sk8er Boi" comes on the radio at this point too.

She took a few cheap shots at some of my favorites, like Jewel, Michelle Branch and Alice Peacock, who was in the stereo while I took her home. It was all good, but I think she seriously would have gone after me had I taken a shot at Nirvana when they came up.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin