January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021
Recapping a friendship #1 - December 20, 2021
The one where I have a rough weekend and debate sharing it publicly. - December 19, 2021

December 04, 2002 // 10:30 a.m. // Just tell me why you're here and who you are

Today's first entry will be all about drama class, which I just escaped about...five minutes ago.

The fun of my drama class. If it isn't the naivete of Angie, it's the constant contradictions of James. If it isn't laughing as Aaron walks in five minutes late everyday, it's wondering if Beth (who is due this month) will give birth right there in the classroom or elevator, a'la a classic Saved By The Bell episode (I personally voted for a baby pool). If it isn't Lindsey's book smarts combined with ultra-conservative beliefs, it's discussing religion, why some kids won't swear and who loves Christmas music and SheDaisy more.

All of this is fun, but Angie took the cake today. Frantically, I transcribed a conversation while the rest of the class began a freewrite on The Heidi Chronicles.

Angie: "Let me ask you guys something. Do you think it's rude to-ok. I've been kind of but not really dating this guy, and he has a weird major. Do you think it's wrong to not want to date him for this reason?"

Me: "That's ridiculous."

Lindsey: "Well you've got to think about your family. I mean-"

Me (to Lindsey): "But she isn't even dating him. They aren't even exclusive! (To Angie) Why are you thinking marriage right now? You aren't even dating."

Angie: "Well, if we *do* get married, I want to be financially stable. I don't want him to struggle."

Me: "Cross that bridge when you get to it."

"Plus, he's three years younger than me."

"Not that that's a great reason, but at least that's a better reason than not dating him because of his major. By the way, what is his major?"

"English Art."

50 minutes later.

Angie: "So is it wrong to not want to go on another date with him because of his major?"

Believe me, I couldn't make this up if I tried.

In other news, with one day left in the semester, I actually don't have the same distain for...um...we'll call her K-Lo for lack of a better name.

K-Lo was the girl who behaved condescendingly toward me when I made a smart remark about As You Like It. I quipped back at her with one equally good later that day. She hadn't been seen since then until this week. I'm thinking the three weeks away from her made me appreciate her a bit more.

In a class of 12 consisting of a married couple, a Gap poster boy, a 22 year-old who has never been kissed, a girl who won't date a guy because of his major and a small clique that always has a story about their fireside or devotional from the night before, I finally found the person most like me in the class, and surprisingly, it's K-Lo.

K-Lo entered drama competitions while in high school. K-Lo has the same conserva-liberal thoughts as I have on things. She's left-handed, sits in the lefties desks, and she has similar study habits as well. The only big difference is there is a reason why her nickname is K-Lo. It's not like I see myself having a lengthy conversation with her, but as Sheryl Crow once said, "a change would do you good." Friday, I may in fact be reading a play with K-Lo, which she is far more experienced in than I am. She's taken it to a drama competition and everything. The class enjoys when I volunteer to read a part. I can't tell if it's due to the female southern accent I do, the way I read a play like I'm really acting in it or if they just need someone for the frequent swear words in Chronicles.

So a recap:

  • I'm not battling K-Lo, perhaps due to common interests and the fact that she's returning from a three week hiatus.

  • Angie is in a dilemma that is very...Angie.

  • And on top of that, Outkast, Fabolous, Pink and Michelle Branch and other artist are booming from the speakers in our student union. Gotta love it, right?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin