May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

May 14, 2002 // 1:10 p.m. // Guilty?

Gulity?

By the way, I just bought the Get Up Kids CD, and am listening to it now. I strongly recommend their previous album, and have a caveat for all non-fans: This isn't as good as the last at first listen. It'll grow on you by about the third, though. With that said...

I wonder if I should feel guilty about what I'm about to say.

When walking to the bus stop from the elementary school I volunteered at in Ogden, I encounter a lot of barking dogs. The neighborhood is full of them. Everywhere you turn, a dog of any size barks at you.

I was nearly at the bus stop in what began downtown Ogden, and I heard a forceful bark that made me jump and turn quickly. I saw that the dog was just feet from me. I started to run for a few feet, but I then realized it was on a leach. The owners of the house probably laughed, but I saw no leash. And the leach was about twenty feet long anyway, from the back of the driveway to the front of it.

They also had another dog that was big enough to jump over the chain link fence at a moments notice. It was huge. Imagine a person about 5'4" standing next to a fence about 4 feet tall, and you'll get the idea.

So I walk away, still scared, and I think to myself, "I hope something happens to that dog." This was a Friday or a Monday.

The following Tuesday, I watched the news, and heard that a house had caught fire on Lincoln Street, the street I usually walk down. They showed the charred house from a distance, and I knew exactly where I had seen it. I saw the field next to it, and the part where the sides jutted out near where the dog's leach was.

Those people's house had caught fire, and it was a total loss. I suddenly remembered the comment I made. I had wished bad upon these people. And there house had caught fire.

So I began to think of it as just a coincidence, until they said there was a fire station directly across the street, and they could do nothing about it. I guess had the fire station been farther, I would have felt better.

I don't know why I took so long to post this. Perhaps I forgot about it when I got a car back and had drama and finals surrounding me. But there is so much I need to post. Like more on T.E.N.T. because three years ago tonight, we went to a dance that changed things forever.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie