November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

July 20, 2005 // 6:51 a.m. // Randomness

Lately, people have been popping back into my life at a record rate. Some of them have been people I went to high school with, like the annoying kid who tried to strike up a conversation on our last two meetings, despite being near the top of my list of the top ten people I disliked most in high school.

I ran into another girl I acted with in high school on the same night I ran into the guy above, and in a weird twist, who should be sitting in the car of a friend of a friend but one of the people I miss most from school? We didn't speak, because Kelsey occupied all of her time. I doubt she even remembered me. I've seen her no fewer than three times in the last year and have yet to approach her.

And now there's one more to add to the list, which is the most surprising of all.

And now for something completely different...

I'm playing a show at Kilby in a few days with Kels, and Linds and a few others, and I don't even know where to begin to tell you how unprepared we are. Last night was meant for practice, but ended up being a total waste, since we never really did anything. Linds is always telling me that she knows I appreciate whatever is going on as art, but I draw the line at banging on two metal trash cans with no real rhythm. It was so noisy. Really, I wanted to leave at 11:30, as soon as we returned from driving around the city when we should have been practicing.

There was only a twenty day period between, "hey, we should start a band around Jason's angellic (sp?) vocals" and our first and only show. Obviously not enough time to write songs, and barely enough time to practice. In fact, I thought the idea and the whole, "hey, I booked us a show" was a joke until Linds left a message on my phone that we had practice last night.

The fact that we're only playing once is probably for the best. I can't say I really enjoy any of the people I'll be playing/singing with except for Linds, and things could definitely be better between us. I almost rolled my eyes at the constant statement of us, "making music that will change the world." How can we do that when we can't start until two of the members have stopped making out, have to wait 45 minutes for a guitar to get in tune and three of the people have left??

I should have left. I work early, and we were getting absolutely nowhere.

I feel like I'm starting at the end rather than the beginning, but there isn't much more at the beginning other than people are entering and leaving my life at a record rate, and it's shaking things up for me. But at least when one set of people leave, another takes its place, which has proven to be nice.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin