January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 14, 2002 // 8:33 a.m. // I should have known he'd be as late as I was

Monday is always a crucial day to arrive on time. Our economics teacher hands out quizzes as soon as class begins, and if we don't arrive on time, we're out of luck.

I left my house late. I decided that since I was running late that I wouldn't stop off to pick up something to drink and I would take the closer and less crowded freeway. This usually cuts ten to fifteen minutes off of my time.

After I had been on the freeway for about five or six minutes, traffic stopped. We had no clue why until we saw two fire trucks and ambulances cruising by us in the emergency lane. A bad wreck had occurred blocking both lanes of traffic. After the ten minute delay and escaping this mess, it was clear sailing...

...until I got to just outside of Ogden.

You see, if you arrive in Ogden any later than about 7:30 in the morning, the rush is crazy due to all of the students trying to make it to their 8:00 classes. It was 7:40, and I got caught in the middle of this. All I kept thinking was, "please let there be a spot on the shuttle. Even if I have to stand."

It's 7:45. I park, rush to the shuttle bus, and had I arrived one person sooner, I would have had a spot. But as it was, I knew I'd be waiting at least another ten to fifteen minutes for it to come back around.

Fortunately on campus, we have two different shuttles. The express, which not surprisingly runs every fifteen minutes but will drop you off where the majority of classes are, and the other, which despite making its way over to the parking lot to pick up students every five minutes, drops students off at the top of campus. If you take this one, it means walking the length of the campus downhill.

It was 7:50, and I had no time to lose. So I hopped on this shuttle, bothered the girl sitting next to me (the wife of a guy in the class I was rushing to get to) with the strong smell of patchouli oil on my wrists (at least I think that's why she had her nose covered) and began a speed walk down to the classroom.

After leaving late, getting caught in a traffic jam due to an accident, the slow down of the late arriving students, missing a shuttle by one person and being forced to walk very fast the length of the campus, I arrived to find that my teacher had called in sick, and wouldn't be in class. We were handed quizzes, and sent on our way. All of that rushing and worrying and I was only in class five minutes.

I'm hungry, but none of the campus concessions in the Gallery are serving what I want to eat. They revitalized the place this year, eliminating real food vendors such as Subway and Pizza Hut in favor of non-name brand sandwhiches and the like. Besides, I'm hungry for lunch, and all that is being served is breakfast.

And the lightbulb just went off in my head. The Pretzelmaker is open downstairs. My brunch is available and waiting for me.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin