November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 14, 2001 // 3:00 p.m. // Getting to know you

Things to do:

- Get my oil changed

- Write 4-6 page paper due Friday morning.

- Study for test to be taken Friday in philosophy

- Figure out why our teacher insists of having 50 questions on his quizzes that read, "all of the following were said/were causes of/ were related to _____ except:" History shows that I've never been good at those questions.

Brock from English class sat next to me on the bus. I feel I've given him a bad rap, partially because he would always talk to the girls I had a hint of interest in in class. He's really not a bad guy.

We had a lot in common. Neither of us have been doing the reading assignments for class until we absolutely have to when an assignment on it is due.

He always seemed to me like he wanted to achieve. Not quite overachieve, but the feather had a chance to land on either side of the fence. I guess he's just as much of a slacker as I am. Later in the conversation he said something to contradict this statement when he said he has recorded B's on all three assignments, but he wants a A in the class and he hopes his participation pushes him over the top. He thinks the teacher doesn't like him, but nothing could be further from the truth in my eyes.

He does something else that I may find useful one day. Nearly everyday we are assigned something to read. What he does is he reads one page of the assignment on the shuttle bus (say the middle of an act of a play) and he participates on that one page. His insight makes it appear like he read all of what was assigned. It couldn't hurt me if I did that. As it stands now, I do none of the reading. Even one page would be an improvement. Plus the conversations in class are 80% foreshadowing and opinions, so it's easy (some say it clearly isn't easy) to throw out nonsense.

Continuing the day of meeting new people, I talked with Jessica for the first time this semester. We touched briefly on the test, the frigid daily temperature of the room and most importantly, the daily drive.

She told me that she sees me driving quite often. She asked me if I drive to Salt Lake, I told her yes, and found out she's from Bountiful, about 10 minutes outside of Salt Lake. She also has quite a drive, but I have yet to find someone that drives from Salt Lake to Ogden. This made her the second new person I talked to of the day, and the second to ask me about my drive from SLC after Brock commented on it earlier.

The crew in Philosophy didn't ask me to be in their study session. I wouldn't be able to make it anyway. It's tomorrow at 11:15. It's funny, the girl who sits in the front of the row next to me (I sit two seats back) and the girl who sits behind me are organizing it, and they each asked the people behind them to the side of them, and even the kid in front of me without asking me. *sniff* *sniff* I didn't want to go anyway.

I got distracted and almost couldn't find my car after school. Nicole sat in front of me on the shuttle and talked with a different kid than "Rusty." His clothing looks similar. I guess I'm the last person to comment on others clothing and ways of life.

Went to the mall an hour before it closed yesterday, and G spent $9.00+ on a Simpsons mug. Rip off. He'd be better off with the Homer doll, which was the main reason for going.

Random Natalie Merchant lyric:

I may know the word
but not say it
I may love the fruit
but not taste it
I may know the way
to comfort and to soothe
a worried face
but fold my hands
indifferent
"

I May Know The Word

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin