November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 09, 2004 // 4:25 p.m. // 13 hopeful thoughts

1. I'm having dinner with these gals tonight. One of the members gave me a call about an hour ago to make sure I knew where we were dining. I spent yesterday and Monday afternoon hanging out and talking with them, and will talk to them one more time before they head back to L.A.

It'll also be cool because I'll get to chat with the two people I went to high school with who got me listening to the band, though I talked with one of them a great deal yesterday.

2. I'm burning a backup copy of the Ghost World DVD I bought a few weeks ago. I really don't know why I bought it, since I was really annoyed by a few parts of it when I bought it on VHS a few years ago. I always burn backup copies of my DVD's, but I don't know why I'm doing so with this one, since I'll maybe only watch it once.

3. My car is at Midas getting repaired. There's nothing wrong with it, there's nothing about to go wrong with it, but the stupid brake sensors have been blinking at me annoyingly for months. In order for it to pass inspection, the lights can't be flashing. It's really frustrating, because it's already cost $130 plus a severly damaged door to fix and it'll cost at least another $70 today for a diagnosis and whatever the cost of the actual part is. I hate that my car runs fine, would pass but for the little light on the dashboard (probably a computer going bizarro) but it'll cost me far too much to fix it.

4. Being without a car all day has been horrible. I couldn't drop off two rolls of film that I said I'd have developed by today, and I couldn't get groceries.

5. Speaking of, I can't get a parking pass at school without brining in my registration and/or emissions paper. On top of this, there's this long paper that you have to fill out and it's one of those "fill in the bubbles with a number two pencil please" papers. This makes no sense. When I bought parking passes in high school and at my other college, all we had to do was write down the make and model of our car, our license plate number and they kept that paper, which featured the same number on it as our parking pass had.

6. I have a ton of laundry to do. I'm not so low that I have to do it today, but I'll definitely be spending a good part of tomorrow sorting and washing.

7. I ran into a girl I went to high school with (still need to write about this) and though she recognized me, she didn't remember my name. We had a creative writing class together for three consecutive years, each of which occupied two-thirds of the school year. In my junior year, I was one of two actors in her student written play that was performed before the school. And, I dated two of her good friends. And I spent numerous long days and one lunch with her while editing the school literary magazine my senior year. But then again, maybe she's just bad with names. She did afterall address me in my yearbook as, "Jordan."

8. I've had Fleetwood Mac's "Dreams" stuck in my head for a few days, with the lyric, "players only love you when they're playing" ringing particularly true.

9. With my alarm clock/regular clock going out every time the power so much as flickered off, I bought one of those "smart" radios that you plug in right out of the box and it automatically sets the time, date and year. I love it. Plus, the numbers are a really cool blue color. The only problem with it relates to the very feature I love about it. For a good seven plus years, I've set my clock (just that clock) an hour and twelve minutes ahead. I don't know why I did it, but I think it was to avoid being late. Why not five minutes or ten you say? I don't know. And what's the point when you know what the real time is? I don't know that either. I'll have to get used to not subtracting an hour and twelve minutes off of my clock now.

Where am I at, number ten?

10. I just got a shirt I ordered from an online store. I don't think it's a coincidence that the light blue shirt happened to arrive the day I realized my other light blue shirt (the one I wanted to wear with the last pair of jeans in the drawer) was dirty.

11. I want this bike from Walmart. Everyone just laughs when I mention it, but I love the whole retro thing. Everything from the frame and handlebars to the guard on the chain and the fenders on the tires. Whitewall tires. Somebody stop me now.

12. We dropped my car off at nine. It's now about 4:30. What's taking so long? If they don't finish with my car in the next hour, I'll have to ride a bike to the restaurant.

13. I'm going back to watching Bedazzled. I don't know why I bought it either. Elizabeth's British accent was just calling me from the $5.50 bin at Walmart as I walked by. I just had to rescue her. Wouldn't you?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin