January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 04, 2002 // 2:24 p.m. // At least it wasn't a college kid

There were plenty of things that foreshadowed the events of about an hour and a half ago. Only now am I piecing it all together.

In economics, we watched a very interesting video on Henry Ford which discussed how he created his empire and how his factory in Detroit led to the creation of over 60,000 local jobs. We learned all about early Ford's and how popular they were with everyone, because at one point, they were cheaper than a team of horses. Ford's. I hear they're pretty safe.

In drama, a distraught and shaken up Lindsey had just been in a car accident. The car in front of her had slammed on the breaks, the car in front of it slammed on the breaks, and she hit the car in front of her. She had just bought her new car weeks before this. She's so incredibly worried that it's going to be expensive to fix her car, but apparently the only damage was to the bumper, and not much at that. I suppose if I had a new car (and I don't know if she means new as in 2001 or 2002 or new as in "another") I'd care about it getting so much as a scratch. Britt caught her fender on her fence and pulled it a few inches from the frame and freaked out. Another person I know is spending $400 or something dollars to fix a dent you wouldn't notice unless you saw it up close. Maybe it would all change if I had a new car, but I'm doubting it. I go months without washing my car, and my bumper looks horrible, so I think I'd just leave it.

So Lindsey gets in an accident at 20 miles an hour. Foreshadowing number two.

I leave the campus parking lot, and rather than turn left like I usually do to go home, I prepare to turn right to cash a check. I pull out into the crosswalk of the busiest street in Ogden, look left, and then pull out a little farther. I see a car and then a truck about five seconds behind it, and realize I don't have enough time to make the turn between the two cars.

And then it hits me. Literally.

I feel a strong jolt as if driving a 3,159 pound bumper car. I check my mirror, turn right, and pull off to the side immediately, just narrowly missing a Jetta that had stopped on the side of the road ten feet or so after the light. The vehicle that hit me pulled right in behind me.

Just before I do, an older gentleman (perhaps in his 60's or 70's) who slightly resembles Charles Schultz gets out of his car and looks at my rear bumper. Before I'm even at the back of my car, he says, "doesn't seem to be any damage..." He said a few more sentences quite rushed, but I tuned him out unintentionally. I see my car, and the only mark indicating he hit me with his older model Jeep Cherokee (resembling this) were the two patches of white on my dirty car, mirroring the shape of his bumper.

"No harm, no foul" I thought to myself. We both headed back to our cars and headed off. There was no damage, and I proceeded to my destination. He had only been going a few miles an hour. I was reminded of the only other time I was rear ended. I was sitting in front of a music shop, and a careless driver had hit me with his old truck. No damage to my car, but when I got out to inspect it, I found him picking up his bumper. "Wanna just forget about it?" "Sure." I got back into my car and watched him carry his bumper to the bed of his truck. I still laugh when I think of it.

So Lindsey hits someone this morning, and a few hours later, someone hits me. If only my story had been more exciting. It's probably not even worth telling them.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin