May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

May 09, 2002 // 1:11 p.m. // Bee-Sting Necklace

If I take too long
To deal with what�s been said
It�s just that I have taken it
To conclusions in my head.

When every kid in class
Has found the guts to ask
What they can do
To help you through
I guess I must look pretty cold:
Your best friend standing silent, choked by fear.

And if we�re back outside
and I�m overcome with stress�
We�re ten feet from a hive, and you�re barefoot
In a sleeveless dress.
If you were only wrapped
In a flak jacket and welder�s mask
I could relax, but that�s so stupid to expect. So�I made this to protect in other ways.

Three pills in a locket around your neck.
Three pills in a locket around your neck.
Three pills in a locket around your neck.

So: if I make amends;
If I cease to be
A rusty-mouthed companion
To this new mortality�
We�re only 12 years old
It�s hard to be so bold
About these things.
But I�m listening.

So tell me what you need from me
And I will boost my bravery to match your own.

I recommend picking up this album (as does the little scrolly bar message) because of lyrics like these. Not quite lyrics because they're leaning more toward the free verse poetry side.

Excellent. Excellent.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie