May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

April 26, 2002 // 12:39 p.m. // The voices we grew up with

Because no matter how great of a day you just had, I bet I can one up you.

First, the little things...

I'm sitting here in a computer lab at Weber State composing an entry, because I have just under an hour before I have to go volunteer, and I have no money to buy lunch with. Oh yeah, the reason I even am able to buy lunch today all revolves around the fact that I have a car now (yay!) and no longer have to do the heavy duty walking and take trips on buses that are far too long.

As great as that is, there's something better.

Weber State has the reputation of getting the most amazing speakers to speak at our small little school. Last year, we had the coach that Remember The Titans (is that what it was called?) as well as Martin Luther King's son. Just a few weeks ago, a former Neo-Nazi spoke at our school as part of our annual Holocaust week.

But today, oh man. I was so excited, that I forgot to tell B and G about it, who surely would have come up from Salt Lake to see this speaker.

Who was this?

Nancy Cartwright, the voice of Bart Simpson. At our school.

In case you don't know, Nancy also does the voices of favorites such as Nelson, Rod or Todd (depending on the show) as well as everyones favorite, Ralph.

The whole speech was nothing but quotes and voices. Amazing. I have now heard all of Bart's catchphrases, Nelson's laugh and every classic Ralph line in the book in person. Everything from, "I bent my wookie" to "my cat's breath smells like cat food", to "I'm going to Bovine University" and "Me fail english? That's umpossible!" So many classic lines. Any Simpsons fan's dream came true today in little old Ogden.

Nancy was promoting her book, and because of it, she would not sign anything but her book. It didn't matter, because just earlier today I joked with my sister about having only one dollar, which I later spent 75 cents of it on a Coke.

We heard all of this behind the scenes stuff that really isn't anything new, but was fun to hear from the mouth of Bart Simpson. We truly do have the greatest people getting the best and most well-known speakers. Just last night, Henry Winkler was here, and earlier this year, we had the first female Prime Minister (forgive me, I can't recall the country), Benazir Bhuto.

And as if this wasn't good enough, (and like I'd have a story w/o mentioning a new crush) I saw a attractive tall girl get off of the shuttle bus that I was about to get on. When the driver told me that his bus would be out of order, I hopped on the other shuttle and saw her again. I sat in the seat where she was facing me, and she put her feet up on the chair next to me. See how little it takes to make my day?

Plus the shuttle bus ride was full of BYU jokes that I had never heard before. I can't recall a single one, but there were at least a dozen great ones.

This entry won't stay current for long. I have a second entry I will compose after I get done with my volunteer work. As always, it's the weekend, and it means little sleep and more hanging out with The Oddities and the weekend crew. For some reason, I wore my "make me look pretty" outfit. Maybe a last ditch effort to get one of my crushes to fall head over heels in lust with me.

At the risk of sounding like someone I can't stand, forget a date, all I want right this second is a makeout buddy.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie