January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 16, 2002 // 8:18 a.m. // I'm sure a few lines aren't right, but basically, this is Chantilli

Random thought that has nothing to do with the entry:

I think I really need to stop reading. Period. It always puts me in a "mood." Or maybe I should just stop reading anything online and should stick with books or magazines. Unless magazines and books start coming out with guestbooks. Then I'd have to stop reading those too.

With that out of the way...

Conversation from poetry class.

Chantilli: "Does anyone know why April Lavigne won or was at the Latin MTV Awards?"

Me: "Isn't she Canadian?"

"Yes!"

"French Canadian at that. Lavigne. Plus her first name is Avril. French."

"I know. But she's at the Latin MTV Awards."

"Nothing wrong with that."

"But there should be people like Mark Anthony, Ricky Martin, Jennifer Lopez-"

"I think she prefers 'J-Lo' now."

"Sorry. *J-Lo*...who else is there?"

"Shakira. Anastacia, Paulina Rubio. Didn't Mark Anthony die?"

"Oh yeah! How can we forget Shakira? No. I saw him on some show last night."

"I'm thinking of Mark Antony. Old joke. Anyway, continue."

"But April Lavigne? (she's still going on with the April Lavigne thing)"

"Well, better her than Ricky Martin, Mark Anthony and the like. We don't want to party like it's 1999."

"But April Lavigne isn't Latin."

"But she isn't a member of the Ramones either, but she plays one on TV. And I've never heard her say, 'aboot' either, so I have to question her Canadian citizenship. Maybe it's a case of Vanilla Ice. The whole fake bio thing. My guess is she is more French than Canadian. Canadians aren't angry. I hear the French can be."

"True."

"And if I see one more picture of her with her mouth open or kicking the camera-"

"April Lavigne's cool."

"Avril."

"April, Avril. Same difference."

"She's just a fake "angry Canadian." I liked it the first time around seven years ago."

"Is there such a thing as an angry Canadian?"

"No. It's a contadiction in terms. And Alanis is hardly angry. Except for Jewel and John Tesh, she's the most calm artist I can think of."

"Don't get me started on Jewel."

"You don't like Jewel?"

"No."

"Then I won't get you started."

I think this is the longest she's ever gone without breaking out a monologue. One of these days I'll have to ask her permission to tape record her so I can get one of her monologues word for word.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin