January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021
Recapping a friendship #1 - December 20, 2021
The one where I have a rough weekend and debate sharing it publicly. - December 19, 2021

December 15, 2002 // 12:31 a.m. // Coffee shopping

Not much going on right now. In a sort of spur of the moment thing, I decided to pop in a tape to record SNL, grabbed my journal, and headed here, not for coffee, but to sample the atmosphere. I really needed to sort things out, and decided that that was as good of a place as any to try it. To my knowledge, I had only been inside once, and usually preferred to do my writing outside. But today I stopped in and wrote in my journal for an hour on all things from the prom kids who sat a few tables over, to crushes, to people's names.

It's quite warm outside npw. Quite. According to the Weather Channel, it is 53 degrees. In fact, I just went outside to do handstands on the grass that hasn't seen snow in months. It's welcomed, but very odd to not see snow on the ground, and to have mid-December weather a week from winter being 53 degrees and warm enough to not need a jacket. It looks like September out there, seriously. Not that I'm complaining. We need snow to solve our drought problem, but I swear last December-January we received more snow than we've seen in ten years. In fact, I remember being at 170% of normal last January. Hearing that we're in a drought reminds me of those telethons where at $60 million dollars, they're still pleading for us to send more, only to do it again the next year.

In other words, every year is a drought year, no matter how much snow and rain we get.

But then again, maybe it is a drought year. We do live in a desert, and come to think of it, we haven't had a good rain storm since last year. We received almost no rain this year. So maybe our governor's claims are warranted.

A note: Don't get me started on weather. I may never stop.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin