May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

May 19, 2002 // 4:30 p.m. // Common Medicines

My mom and I are sitting in the all too small of a room watching her new favorite channel: The Discovery Health Channel. They're talking about the evolution of medicine, and how prominent in today's society.

Maybe I'm luckier than most. Or maybe I just have this thing for not taking medicine. Maybe I can handle being sick better than most. It might even be some kind of mind over matter or placebo effect. All I know is that I rarely get what I consider "sick" and that I have only taken any kind of medicine once (I totally forgot about that time) since my 12th birthday.

When the flu hits me, I take it as normally as possible. I don't lie down, I don't feel sorry for myself. I don't even sleep in. Whether it's because I believe it or not, my flu's traditionally only last five or so days, and even then, they don't get much worse than sniffling, stuffed and runny noses and chills. I hear horrible stories about headaches and pain. I don't get it. The last time I can recall getting sick was in the week after September 11th.

I've never had the extremely common drugs. I don't even know what they're used for. Advil? Motrin? I've never had either of those. I've never had a migrain (as far as I know. I'm told I have a high pain threshold) or a hospital stay. But I still have to figure out what caused my finger to be left permanently crooked and hard to bend after jamming it playing basketball around fourth or fifth grade. When making a fist, it doesn't bend as much as the rest. I can feel a pull that is tight. Like their is a small ball bearing in it.

But, yeah. I almost failed my Common Medicines class, because while everyone else was studying their long medical words and terms, I was still trying to figure out what Zoloft and Sudafed did. It's not like I can help it. I'm sure you're all so jealous at how little medication I've taken.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie