January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 05, 2002 // 9:35 a.m. // Growing up lefty

The cable modem has been acting up all day today, meaning I have no clue whether this will post or not. One can only hope I suppose.

My sister's possible trip to Michigan to visit one of her friends may be back on again. The only thing is they'll likely want me to go with her, as my parents may be busy with work. At first she discussed driving rather than flying. Of course my response was, "are you nuts?" But it appears that they'd be paying for the flight, so should we go, it'll be my first time on an airplane.

Speaking of doing things for the first time, I went to a driving range with the weekend crew on Saturday and it was my first time ever picking up a golf club. Apparently for a first timer, I wasn't too bad. But as is the case with all activities (or life in general) I was already at a disadvantage due to being left-handed.

You see, in the shop they had a good two hundred or so clubs, and the only left-handed club they had was an iron. This meant I couldn't drive the ball at all, because there was only one left-handed club.

And because I'm in the mood to complain (in good fun), here are some other daily disadvantages:

  • Opening doorknobs

  • Writing. Righties hands are gliding over clean white paper. Ours are smearing what we've already composed.

  • Scissors. Fortunately, we have more ambidextrous scissors now. But I can remember digging through a box of scissors in third grade for one of two pair of lefties.

  • Baseball/softball mitts/batting gloves. For PE, you'd have maybe one lefty mitt in the bunch.

  • Desks. The biggest problem. Righties have the nice little armrest on the right side, but our arms dangle. It's why you see so many lefties writing in a weird way when in them.

  • Playing the guitar.

And that's just a start. Probably everything in our house from our television and VCR to cameras, disc drives and computer monitors have buttons on the right side.

Oh, and this? I got a kick out of this. I often slant my paper in the "correct" way while many lefties I know hook their wrists and do it the other way. But for what it's worth, I'm quite ambidextrous with the exception of sports.

I don't even know why I began this entry, but it just shows you how a sentence like, 'I did something for the first time' can set me off on a tangent.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin