November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

December 31, 2003 // 9:09 a.m. // Hero Takes A Fall

My sister and I were sitting in the living room with the TV set to the Wayne Brady show. Not my choice, but it was on. At the top of the show, they mentioned that The Bangles would be performing. I decided I'd watch.

They played, "Something That You Said", a song that when you hear, you know is going to be a single. They had been playing for no more than thirty seconds when my sister began to comment.

(sees me singing. Figures I know who the band is.)

"Who are they?"

"The Bangles."

"They look weird."

"Why is that?"

"Because they're all girls. There are no boys."

When she said that, I laughed. Apparently, she isn't big on the all-girl band concept. It did look a bit odd only after she pointed it out. Maybe it's because they were dressed really girly. Skirts and pretty clothes. But she continued:

It doesn't even look like they're playing their instruments. Look. Her hands are barely moving.

Again, she made a good point. Susanna was the person she was talking about, and she wasn't moving her fingers along the frets very far. But I made the comment that she probably wasn't the lead guitarist. And just as she was about to ask another question, the camera cut to a closeup of Vicki playing guitar and moving her hand all along the neck of the guitar.

My sister was quite opinionated during the duration of the performance. She commented on how young they looked and was surprised that I told them that they were at their most popular before she was born.

I listened to the new album again just the other day and still think it's better than 90% of the pop out now. The sound is the same, only they're writing more about marriage and less about walking egyptian-style to the mall. The pop songs have grown on me and are just as catchy and excellent as those written 20 years ago.

Speaking of catchy pop songs that have grown on me, that evil "Why Can't I" by Liz Phair has grown on me, and I'll find myself singing it at the mall, in my car, at the computer and just about everywhere else. It's just a shame that her new fanbase is too young to go to her shows and don't realize that she's in her late 30's and has quite the musical past. But at least the music video for the song is cool. So cool that I had to download it.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin