January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

September 16, 2002 // 2:31 p.m. // A long day in Ogden

Five more hours. That's how long I'll be in Ogden. You see, there is a poetry reading at the library that our teacher is requiring us to attend. Actually, not so. He said that if we wanted to write a one page report on the book instead, that we could do that. I should do that. Who wants to spend the afternoon and evening in Ogden?

To pass the time, I've been taking pictures of various things up here. I have five rolls of film sitting at home and only four or five pictures left on this one. That means if I want to take pictures up here in Ogden, I will have to buy yet another roll of film. Not cheap, either. And I don't have any small bills in my wallet. This is why I had to pay for a pretzel and a smoothie with a credit card.

There's a kid to my immediate right, who is typing extremely fast. Faster than I've ever seen anyone type. His hands hitting the keyboard are more like a blur or a sound effect than individual key strokes. To comensate for this, I've slowed down comnsiderably. It's quite distracting. He probably could have composed this in one minute. It's taken me seven.

And now he's done. And I swear he paused to look at my screen while he got up to leave. I'm sure he read the paragraph about him just as quickly as he could type it.

Five more hours until the poetry reading starts. What am I going to do?

First thought, is the mall. Hours can be wasted at the mall. Another thought, is Barnes & Noble. The only problem being I have no clue where one is in Ogden. I could always buy another roll of film to take more photos, but how long will that last? And how much do I want to drive around? The whole point of not going home in the first place was so that I wouldn't have to waste another 1/4 tank of gas in driving another 60 miles.

2:15. I should just go home and be done with it. But I've waited more than two hours so far. Another 4 1/2 won't kill me.

Maybe I can compose about my weekend.

Maybe the computer lab won't like me wasting so much time in there.

Maybe I can talk all about how today went.

In drama, we watched part of "The Glass Menagerie", which led to our teacher saying that she would rather leave the room than watch the end of the movie. And she did. She chose this movie and she still said that she'd rather leave.

English class was the provider of a ton of quoteworthy quotes, but all of them are in my backpack which is in the car right now. In our row, the desks weren't lined up so that they were evven with the other rows. This meant the pop star crush who is the first person in our row was even with the second row of students.

This meant that the boy next to her had a conversation with her, rather than me. You see, he's quick to get the conversation ball rolling, complete with questions such as, "how was your weekend?" and the like. Pop star crush is quickly being persued by others, and aside from the jealousy that not only was he talking to her, but that she was being nice to him, I'm fine. This is just going to be a long semester, that's all.

What can I tell you about poetry class...Chantelli (because I *still* do not know her name) and I were the first two in class and the only two for about five minutes. I knew that today was the day we were to hear a poetry reading from an author, but I forgot that it wasn't in our class, but rather the union building.

Fortunately, I remembered that it wasn't in the classroom, and we headed up to the now full room, where I sat by the girl from drama who looks like 80's pop star, Tiffany. From there I took pictures, ate, wrote, and the rest as they say is history.

2:30. I only ate up 26 minutes? Oh, no.

P.S.Upon picking up my cell phone just a minute ago, the time was revealed to be 2:02. That's right. I actually *still* have five hours, and have just lost 30 minutes. Oh. And that "insert" button on the keyboard? I turn it off and five minutes later, it's back on. Next thing you know, I look up, and have lost a paragraph.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin