November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 11, 2003 // 9:59 a.m. // New Amsterdams show

I couldn't stand popping on multiple times a day and seeing how long it had been since I had last updated, so I decided to go the easy route.

Pictures.

I took these when I went to see The New Amsterdams on Friday. I decided against bringing my 35mm camera and went with the digital despite all of the problems it presents.

The first act was Rocky Votolato, an acoustic guitar player who was really cool when I chatted with him at his merch booth. He had a good protest song and another great loss song that prompted me to buy his CD and to put a little money in his pocket as he headed to the next city.

Next was Jesse Malin, a guitarist from Brooklyn whose stories were better than his songs. That's not to put him down. These were really good stories. In fact, he's recording a live album this tour - composed solely of his song's stories.

I also really liked how this photo turned out. None of my other shots turned out like this and I have little clue how I achieved this effect, but all of the lights made this my favorite.

Finally were The New Amsterdams, Matt Pryor's (lead singer of The Get Up Kids) solo project. His songs are so short he seriously could have played 95% of them from the three albums in a ninety minute set. No encore though. I suspect because they got a pretty late start.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin