November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 06, 2004 // 9:37 p.m. // Situations with power

The weirdest thing is going on. At about 8:15, our power flickered off and back on while my sister an I were watching the NCAA Women's title game. At first we figured it was due to the rain (which continues to fall more than an hour later) but when I walked around the corner into the dining room, I saw that the lamp was on, but the TV, cable box, two computers and two printers were all out. I walked into the kitchen where I found the light didn't work, but the TV, fridge, coffee pot and microwave worked. In the living room where we were watching TV, nothing works. No TV, VCR, DVD, computer, lights, nothing.

In my room, my mom's room, and the bathroom, all was copasetic. This may or may not have anything to do with their location in the house.

It's all so odd. The power flickered off in every room of the house but mine. I know this because a) my clock flashes 12:00 if it's off for even a microsecond and b) I was recording something in my room and when I went in to check on it, it was still recording.

Another thing, the phone doesn't work, but the bathroom light does. They're plugged into the same plug. Same with the kitchen. The coffee pot works, but not a light.

I'm guessing it's a fuse, seeing as how the dining room issues can easily be explained, seeing as how the stuff that works is plugged in one place and the stuff that doesn't is plugged in on the other side of the room. Plus, when every circuit in the house was turned off and on, we never recovered the lights we lost.

My sister decided to call it a night. Her boyfriend has her car (that car has no rest. When she works, he drives it, when he works, she drives it) and she had "nothing to do" without the power. I suppose I should have told her that two of the three computers still work.

Me? I'll go to sleep in about 60-90 minutes, depending on if I feel like watching South Park. I was going to go driving or even walking in the rain since it's the first good sized storm of the year, but decided against it. I enjoy the rain, but not being wet.

My alternative choice was to drive up to the coffee shop to relax. That way I could enjoy the best of driving and walking in the rain. But then I realized how much I dislike coffee and that the hot chocolate wouldn't do right now.

I guess I'll just enjoy the DVD I bought. Or read. And maybe fall asleep early. I just feel really tired right now, and I don't think it's because of DST. I think I just have a lot in my head.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin