January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 31, 2002 // 12:51 p.m. // Ouch

"I only hate you 'cause you're beautiful. (I can't really hate such a sincere person)"

"We never ask ourselves the questions to the answers that nobody even wants to know
Yes I guess we need the drama
So much for the afterglow"

I had a million Everclear lines to preface this entry, and as much as parts of various other songs fit, I settled on that one.

Don't you truly dislike when someone points out a character flaw of yours, and you realize that they are actually right?

No matter how out of line they may be in telling you (or everyone else this, especially when you barely know them and vica versa) about this flaw, there is nothing like that initial double take that comes when you look at the screen, and read it over and over and over again to make sure what you just read is there, and not some mirage.

It's like what they say after every single season of the Real World. You cannot lie about how you're portrayed, because it's you portraying it yourself. It's exactly how I feel. It's the risk you take in online journals. If you're yourself and true to yourself, you welcome people pointing out those flaws, those answers to the one question we never truly want to know:

"How do I come across to other people?"

The point is, they're right and oh so wrong. Right in that it made me realize their comment about me was true and that I can see how I come off in that way, but oh so wrong in the biting way that it was handled. "Ouch" is the only way I can think to describe it.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin