January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

November 21, 2002 // 6:40 p.m. // I can't even think any longer

There is far too much chaos here to touch upon.

Fist of all, we've had no hot water since Monday. Apparently that thing I heard behind the TV in the dining room was the hot water heater not leaking, but gushing water. We'll be without hot water for awhile, too as the hot water tank is out in the front yard.

What else is in the front yard? Our old furniture, complete with one half of the barrel chair set bought before I was born.

Also on the front yard are various pieces of my car. Pieces. As in pieces. In order to pass inspection, I need a grill piece that encompasses the headlights and a new bumper (among other things). The weather has been incredibly good this week, and we had all thought my dad would get to this now before winter and the cold hit, leaving the work impossible. I think he's going to tackle the task this weekend in a one day process, leading to yet another problem...

I have no bumper.

If you know how things work around here, it really shouldn't surprise you. After all, my dad stripped the bathroom of all its wallpaper, put up drywall in its place and replaced the floor with what looks like a mix of cork and particle board. This was the summer before I started junior high, which would be around July of 1994. Our bathroom looks *awful.* The shower and bathtub knobs are just devices coming out of this huge piece of always wet drywall.

So at this rate, my car should be ready by the winter of 2010.

I just don't understand why he took the bumper off of it at about 2:00 this afternoon, before seemingly deciding that, hey, Jason? If you need the car this afternoon, tomorrow or any time in the next seven years, you don't need a bumper! He never did put the replacement bumper back on, and will likely do it tomorrow, as it's too dark. This means I will drive to school tomorrow without a bumper if he cannot get the replacement bumper on tonight. I won't even mention that it's black, meaning my car will be like all of those other cars out there with two different colors to the body.

Why do I need the car tonight you ask? My cell phone plan ended today, and it had been our plan to head out to various stores to check out prices. We had this same plan last night when the car had a bumper, but it was nixed when it was decided that the store closed at 6 and there was no time. For the record, the store didn't close until 7.

So here's the story, morning glories: I have no cell phone, no means of transportation, black car parts to match my white car, an oil change due, various minor repairs, and did I mention no cell phone? And the way it looks now, I won't have one for two more weeks, because although the phone I want is avaiable at Circuit City, they more than doubled the price after the sale ended on the 16th, and since the parents don't want to spend $99.99 on a cell phone, (I tried to add they would get a $50 gift card with the purchase) it looks like I'll be going the route of ebay to find the phone in the former sale price route of $40-55.

But they would spend $2,200 on a living room set that looks like a weathered cow with stretch marks. Go figure. Merry Christmas to us.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin