May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

May 02, 2002 // 8:10 a.m. // The Promise Ring

On Tuesday, I went to see The Promise Ring in concert at my favorite venue. I had not been here since 2000 when Dandy Warhols played, so I had yet to be in the since renamed X-Scape.

The ticket sait the doors opened at 6:30, with music at 7:30. I arrived downtown at about 6:15, and walked the block or so to X-Scape. Immediately I heard someone call my name.

It was Carl from my sociology 1020 class. He asked what I was doing down there (meaning downtown Salt Lake or the show?), and I told him I was just going to the show.

The first thing he noticed was my shirt. Since my Cardigans shirt is still infected by that odd red stain that's been on it for almost a month now, I went with my The Get Up Kids shirt that I picked up when they played the same venue in September of 2000.

"Are you going to see them when they come through on June...13th?"

"Yeah."

"I'm not a big fan of The Get Up Kids, but I want to see Hot Rod Circuit." He then went into 'singing' the riff of "Action & Action." His friends (also from Ogden) were supposed to be arriving shortly. As I know the area, I pointed out where the Delta Center was and the address of the club to those he was on the phone with. Had they ended up at 187 North like he told them, they'd be at the Temple. Not a great place to see a concert, I assume.

Carl and his friend went to get coffee, so I began waiting in line just as the doors were scheduled to open. As always, things didn't start on time, but fortunately all who were waiting were kept entertained by the cellist who was preforming on the corner for us. At least half of us in line gave him money.

6:30 turned to 6:45 which soon turned to 7:00 and 7:10. The doors still hadn't been opened, but someone from the camp of the band came out with promotional items such as posters (that ran out just before they reached me) and a two track CD with the lead single and a bonus track.

Finally, the doors opened, and I had a seat. There was no way I was going to stand by the stage after standing for over an hour. I waited until just before the show began (or until people began crowding the floor, whichever came first) and staked out a spot in the first row right next to the stage.

The opening band was Sugarland Run from right out of Provo Utah. They had a ton of groupies in the front row that new every lyric. They were quite good. I especially liked the first song they played and another I can't recall. They sounded a tad too much like The Get Up Kids to me, however.

I then watched The Weakerthans play quite a long set, followed by The Promise Ring. I had been spending the past few days trying to memorize my two favorite songs from the latest album. I recognized the other new songs they played, but didn't know much in the way of their lyrics. Fortunately they played two songs from the Very Emergency album, which is truly the only album I have all of the songs memorized. On these two songs, the girl standing next to me in the front row and I rocked out extremely hard to. Apparently she's having the same difficulties I am with memorizing the new album that came out only seven days before the concert.

I bought a copy of the new Weakerthans album, a Promise Ring shirt (that doesn't even fit) and the Wood/Water album that I forgot that I purchased only hours before. Yes, that's right. I now have two copies of The Promise Ring's latest album. Which is good I guess. Once I start wearing out this one, I can move onto the other.

I won't even get into the whole emo scene that seems to bleed through concerts of bands such as The Promise Ring or The Get Up Kids. Thrift store t-shirts a size or two too small and very short haircuts. The girls are all about the 50's glasses (or smart girl glasses) and a style that borrows from Kelly Osbourne.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie