May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

April 17, 2002 // 3:22 p.m. // Why does it always snow on me?

I decided not to go volunteer today. I honestly have a good reason.

It snowed again. A lot.

It's why I have a love/hate relationship with Ogden. It's always colder by a few degrees, and it's more likely to snow or rain there as well.

I attended a speech by a former Neo-Nazi skinhead (which is another entry itself) and after picking up a pizza at the union building, I went outside and saw snow. Not just flurries or a light storm, but enough so that you have to walk with your head down, because it blinds you as hit hits your face. I guess you're right, RaeAnne. You will need to bring warm clothes when you come back in a few weeks.

So...snow. And enough slush on the walkways to keep me sliding all over campus.

I walked across the street, and waited for the bus that'd get me home.

And waited. And waited. And waited.

It was definitely less than 30 degrees. All I had on were a t-shirt, an Old Navy fleece, and a pair of thin green basketball shorts. I watched as seven busses that weren't mine went by. Finally, 85 minutes later, the bus came.

There's something weird about the number 55 bus from Salt Lake to Ogden. It only runs during the week, and at that, very rarely. Last week, I waited an hour for it.

As soon as I got on the bus, my head and hair weighted down and frosted by snow, I followed another girl's lead and fell asleep across both seats. I woke up 45 minutes later, still at least twenty minutes from my stop.

I was still cold. The bus driver didn't turn on the heater, plus he sounded like Don Pardo. My clothes and hair were still wet, but I waited another fifteen minutes for a bus that would get me within a mile of my house.

Let me explain something. Bus 81 will get me within seven blocks of my house. The 16, however will drop me off within a block. They both travel the same street to a certain point.

While on 81, I saw the 16 in front of us. I had a chance to leave, then jump on the 16 (because it had to wait so long for a passenger to exit) but I missed my chance, it turned and headed toward my house, and I walked the seven blocks home.

I've been home for at least an hour, but I'm still cold. Part of that comes from having to climb in the laundry room window because both doors were locked and my dad was asleep. I've now got on even more warm layers, and if things go right, we'll search for cars again tonight or tomorrow.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie