November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 18, 2002 // 9:07 a.m. // Eternally crushing

I read an entry I composed about a week ago, and realized the list was a little too incomplete for me. I wouldn't be doing the rest of my high school/college crushes justice by not including them.

I really need to start a new diary for this. We'll start at the heart of it all. The infamous four year crush.

Pea Soup- It's not because she was beautiful but plain. It's not because she appeared to be somewhat shy and down to earth. It wasn't because she cut her bangs and still managed to look good. Pea Soup is/was just Pea Soup. As far as I know, I only conversed with her twice. Once on yearbook day during my freshman year when she asked the time and the other when she grabbed my forearm and congratulated me after a play during my senior year. She knew I was alive. That was all I needed.

Buckie- Now I don't know why I crushed on her. I found her attractive despite what others said. I didn't know her well enough to say if she had a great personality or not, but I value her opinion, and if she says she's evil, then I guess she's evil. We spoke briefly after the play, by which she was intrigued.

Nana- Perhaps we spoke twice. Once after a creative writing conference, once after I arrived late with the cups on the day we had a mid-evil party in history. She always asked stupid questions. Things like what pants were made of in the 1300's.

There are more of these four year crushes. Most of them cheerleaders. We all know how that goes, right? I'll move on to another sub-topic. The common interest crushes. These were crushes that honestly stood a chance of working. Of course, I'd have to ask them on a date first.

Polo- Mentioned on a semi-regular basis. My date for junior prom two years ago. Despite my devouring of meat and her being a vegetarian, we made it work. The conversation on the date was awesome. Nothing in particular, we just kept the conversation going. Also the origin of an absolutely freaky coincidence that sounds like something straight out of the Twilight Zone.

JM- I guess I have a thing for the vegetarian type. JM took it a step further, as she's vegan. The creative type. She was my date for homecoming, is my height, which made me, a tall person look ridiculously small next to her. Full of mixed signals. Did she like me or not? A touch of high maintenance or not? She's infamous for being the girl who ordered a bowl of fruit from Village Inn when we went to eat afterward.

Randi- Now this crush has come back to haunt me. I don't even know what her voice sounds like, let alone if she looks the same. One thing is for sure. She doesn't work at Petco any longer, so I can walk in with comfort. One of those crush-as-you-pass-them-in-the-hallway-even-though-you-don't-know-a-thing-about-them type crushes.

Michelle - was a crush that *shock* actually may have liked me back, even if only as a friend. We hung out an field trips, I burned a few CD's for her, and she gave me a personalized note on yearbook day expressing her gratitude. She also pulled me aside at graduation and asked for a picture with me. Do you think she liked me even a little? I've seen her twice since, both at acting related functions at my alma matter.

Britt- A crush in eighth grade that continued into tenth grade until Danny wooed her away. I didn't want to tell Britt I told her so, but (humming a taunt) na, na na na na.

Eck. This is taking too much energy to think back on these crushes, so I won't even touch the college ones. Another time, maybe?

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin