November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

August 20, 2003 // 10:09 p.m. // To make a long story longer...

I must first note that if anything is unclear, please drop me a comment at the bottom of the page. Even I'm confused after reading my own entry.

As these pictures display (and not as well as I'd like I'm afraid) our three block long street is currently in the middle of a massive construction project. The city council decided our street needed to be redone, despite the fact that everything appears to be fine. The entire street is now getting curbs, storm drains and an all new road, which is one of the reasons our road has currently been demolished to its very foundation.

Our entire street now looks like a cross between a motocross track and an off road trail.

Don't worry, my story has a conclusion.

Because of all of this construction, everyone who has a car on the street has to park in either their driveway or around the block. If they plan on leaving their driveway between about 7:30 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., they cannot park in their driveway, because they will be boxed in by the bulldozers and dump trucks. Also, since we have no driveway, we had to park on the closest street not under construction, like many of our neighbors. It should also be noted that the families with four or five cars that aren't able to fit them all in their garage and driveway also had to park elsewhere. Bottom line: No cars on the street. Period.

Due to the ongoing construction, bulldozers and giant trucks, I couldn't pull onto our street when I came home at noon today. I suddenly remembered three things: the 7:30-5 rule, the 'no parking on the street' rule, and that if I somehow got lucky and made it onto our street, I'd likely be stuck there for the day. So I, like three of our neighbors, parked in front of houses on the street that is just around the corner from ours. We had no choice. Both entrances to our street were blocked off.

Following me so far?

When they finished construction this evening, I headed down the street and around the corner to my car to pull it in front of our house. I noticed their was a note on my windshield.

It read: (with every grammatical mistake left intact)

"Pleas Park So people who live here can at least park there cars Thanks."

I'm thinking of leaving a note on one of their cars that reads, "I'll remember this when the construction hits your street. Thanks."

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin