November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 19, 2003 // 7:07 a.m. // Never been so happy to leave

First off, I want to make sure that none of you are eating. Not like I think it'll make you sick or anything, but hey, I'm just a disclaimer kind of guy.

I watched a bit of TV last night and drank one of the Coke's in the fridge. In doing so, I walked through the dining room/computer room/spare bedroom to get to the kitchen. Everything was fine.

I woke up this morning at 5:30 and headed into that room to watch the morning news. As soon as I set foot in the room, I smelled an absolutely awful smell. In fact, it still smells that way.

The smell...how to describe it. The first thing that pops into my mind is throw up and some sort of ammonia-based cleaning product. It smells dozens of times worse than an outhouse. It smells like if Fear Factor decided to have a stunt that involved standing waste deep in puke and Lysol.

Without trying to be obvious, I tried to figure out on my own where the smell was coming from. At first I thought a blanket (especially since I had it wrapped around my lap) but it seemed unlikely that a blanket that smelled fine only hours before would take on this odor. But then again my dad (who sleeps in this room) doesn't have the greatest sense of smell and perhaps he just didn't notice it.

My next thought was that it came from the floor because the smell was even worse at floor level.

I'd ask someone what the smell was, but since nobody has so much as even mentioned it all morning, I have no clue what kind of reaction I'd get.

Because of this, I've never been so happy to go to school. Parking problems, long shuttle bus wait times, 45 degree temperatures that only get colder and windier as I drive 30 miles north, a test I'm not prepared for, listening to my parents gossip about my sister and her boyfriend (ok, so that I want to hear) and a painting project I have to spend most of the morning and the first few hours of the afternoon on...

All better than being here for that smell.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin