May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

May 29, 2002 // 7:10 p.m. // 500th entry spectacular gala benefit gallery bonanza!

It just hit me what my 500th entry is supposed to be about. Maybe not supposed to be about, but going to be about.

I'm 20. And in a state where the culture teaches you that 20 is too old to not only be single but to not be engaged as well, it makes it difficult to find a worthy partner who is not only single, but looking for the same things you are. Add to the fact that I'm living in the smallest of big cities and you see my dilemma.

Now. Add to the fact that you usually feel like this. You're used to crushes that you have literally passing you by for friends or something more "exciting." Now, true, I always get the last laugh when they leave the relationship hurt, but my goal here isn't to lament about all of the girls who I've seen waltz past me in favor of someone else.

One day, I was bold enough to ask Sariah how she would describe me to a potential girl.

"Well, you're tall, smart, funny, have a great sense of humor."

It's not like I expected her to say "hotter than hell" or anything, but it would have been nice to hear something besides tall, which always seems to be the first adjective used, despite the fact I'm just a touch over six feet.

I've seen three friends get married, two from my homecoming group picture alone. None of them are over the age of 20. All three already have kids!

This morning while watching the news, I saw a young man likely in his early 20's propose to his 20 year old girlfriend. They've known each other for 1 1/2 months. That's what sparked this whole entry. The fact that every few weeks it creeps into my head that I should already be married.

(smiles to himself) I so need to move.

I plan on getting my sister to compose some kind of entry (I'll even link to the site she's just beginning) if she arrives home from basketball conditioning soon. If that doesn't work, I'll just abduct the digital camera and snap photos all over this city. I'm using only about 10-11% of my allotted diaryland photo space. What can I say. I'm good at turning 80k photos into a 7k managable size.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie