January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

October 30, 2002 // 1:46 p.m. // It looks like I have a whole lot of something

I'm looking out the window right now at a sky full of clouds yet full of blue sky and realizing that just an hour ago, I was standing among 150 or so college students in more snow than I had seen since April. That's right, it's snowing in the valley at the end of October, and it's not that unusual.

I saw the first sign of snow early this morning. It never even hit the ground. It would sort of float onto my hood and windhield. You couldn't even feel it when you stood outside. By the time I arrived in Ogden, it was snowing slightly more, proving my theory that I need to throw an extra coat or jacket or pair of long pants in the back of my car, because the weather is always worse in Ogden than it is in Salt Lake. This is the fourth time this year where I've encountered rain or snow that magically began to fall about five minutes outside of the city.

_____________________________

I still have to see about getting tickets to see Badly Drawn Boy tonight. It's been a good six months since I've seen a concert at this venue. I heard him perform on Conan and now I have to go to the show.

_____________________________

We finally wrapped up all discussions on Othello. Next up is As You Like It (yes, she's hitting us with Shakespeare back to back) and Ibsen's, A Doll's House. I'm vaguely familiar with both, as I've seen both performed, but that was years ago. Next time I'll know better than to take any kind of drama or poetry class in which you have to analyze and scrutinize every line an author chooses to write.

Which brings me to my english class. A week ago, I mentioned that Pop Star left our group in favor of fame and attention with the group of boys. Today, the four of us met as a group to discuss drafts of our papers, and not only did she join us, but she sat in her usual spot and our general area as well. I really enjoy our little in class peer group. We really do help each other to strengthen our writing. We're quite helpful to one another. Other than the little spill with Pop Star last week, we get along very well. And the boy who "stole" her away from us? He's also in my economics class, but I wasn't aware of this until Monday when he asked me about how I was doing.

Like I've said many times (because people still have their doubts), the Pop Star crush is over. Besides, who can compete with the goody-goody economics boy who can sweep a girl off her feet by extending his hand and saying, "hey, sunshine!"?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin