November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

August 26, 2001 // 10:23 a.m. // We miss you Aaliyah.

I'm so sad right now.

You may or may not have heard, but Aaliyah was killed in a plane crash after filming a music video in the Bahamas. I really don't know what to think.

Of all of the artists in the world, she was the one that has been in the minds of my friends and I for the last month. When her album came out last month, G contemplated buying it, because of her previous hits. He bought a few of her past albums to get the songs he wanted, and for the past month, he's been debating about whether or not to buy her CD. Everytime we'd go to a store he'd think about buying her CD.

Like I said, we've been talking about her non-stop for the last month. Everything from her personal life, to her songwriting, to her hit songs.

In fact I mentioned a few weeks ago that we were composing songs and that I thought his were corny. Those songs were all written to the tune of Aaliyah's Four Page Letter.

I even gave her the nickname of Queen Of The Soundtracks a few days ago, after the fact that half of her hits have come from movie soundtracks, and that her last movie was the similarly titled Queen of the Damned.

We listened to her album heading out to the Fun Dome three weeks ago. Her songs We Need A Resolution and One In A Million are among the best sounding songs in my car. I watched a piece of her Diary special on MTV a few weeks ago, and this past week, G commented on how real she seemed.

It seems in August, tragedy happens. I keep remembering Sara, Tyler, and Lance and how their accident nearly a year ago to this date at Yellowstone proves we are not immortal, and that sometimes terrible things happen to great people.

The world is never fair, and I'm grateful everyday of my life for everything from this keyboard I'm typing on, to the soap to clean my hands with, to the car I drive and the school I can attend.

It's really wierd. You never picture people to die out of the blue. It comes as a shock, and as far as I know, Gup doesn't know. I don't want to be the one to tell him either, but I'll likely have to unless he hears it on MTV today.

So out of respect, I'm going to go listen to the few hits I have of hers on my MP3 player.

Random Aaliyah lyric:

"Baby you don't know,what you do to me.

Between me and you, I feel a chemistry.

Won't let no one come and take your place.

Cause the love you give can't be replaced."

-One In A Million

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin