November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

November 25, 2001 // 1:43 p.m. // Drive for your life!

Yeah, so I'm so far behind that I'm recapping Friday night. I'll go over this briefly.

-Went to Circuit City where I didn't buy a CD. G and B both did though.

-Drove to Curry In A Hurry where both of them got food. I could have drove 50 feet in the same parking lot to the Burger King to eat, but I didn't. The only two places they wanted to eat were a Chinese place inside of a grocery store or Curry In A Hurry, which specializes in Indian food. A few months ago, they had the same two places to eat in mind, and I chose Chinese, but didn't eat there.

-Watched as Jesse attempted to "race" a car along 200 South that happened to have an intercom system inside. The bad news: we were right by the police station downtown and three cops were on the side of the road where he peeled out and sped down the road. The good news: he evaded police (we called him as he saw the sirens behind him) by taking a few carefully skilled turns near the Governor's mansion and in the avenues. He still made it to Sears before us, and we were four blocks away.

-Drove to the indoor arcade that we couldn't find a few months ago. Won 440 tickets (I went home and counted them) after spending almost $20 on games. They had my favorite game there, which accounted for 200 or so of my tickets. I looked like a gambler there, putting in token after token. The tickets include about 100 from G, 25 or so from Jesse and maybe 20 from B. As I went to cash them in, a little girl told me the booth was closed. I was stuck with hundreds of tickets in one of my coats with the smallest pockets.

-On the drive home, I saw a Delorean on top of a tow truck. Of course, this is the famous car from Back To The Future. "You're witnessing history." Jesse shouted to us from his car while driving along side of us. "They only made 500 of those in the U.S." He then went on to speak about engine size and specifications which I know were wrong, because only a week ago I was looking at the same information.

-B suggests we take the freeway rather than State Street. I oblige, and since it's past midnight and I never get on the freeway at that spot, I nearly get lost on which of the many exits gets me to where I know where I'm going. We end up behind a slow moving Suzuki or something. Wondering why he was going so slow, I pass him and no sooner do I hit the blinker, I immediately skid due to the constant snow over the past few days.

I could hear the tires screeching over the sound of the stereo and nearly freaked out as we were heading straight for the guardrail. Luckily a split second later we were headed straight, but still sliding on the ice and out of control. All of my driver's education info slipped out of my mind and had I not stopped skidding about 7 seconds later, we could have all been toast. At least we slid straight most of the time (though the road curved) and in our own lane. It was scary enough to cause B to take roads home rather than the freeway when we were right next to the freeway and street roads would take him a half an hour longer and miles out of his way. We saw another car that had just been in an accident in the parking lot of the Wendy�s where B had left his car. Everybody�s wrecking their cars lately. Please drive safe everyone.

I had a crazy dream about a reader of this diary/journal last night. More on that later.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin