November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

December 19, 2001 // 9:22 p.m. // Saying hello and goodbye

I just got off the phone with the recorded message from the court. Today was the third time I've had to call it this week, and again they told me not to report in on Thursday. I'm assuming I'll have to go in on Friday then. It's now at the point that I have the phone number memorized which is a good thing because I couldn't find the sheet that had the number. I'm upset that I've had to rearrange my week around jury duty. It's not that I had anything else to do anyway, but still.

Today I did get out of the house even if only for a minute. I headed to the bank and cashed one of many checks I have. Although I must say I do have a safe supply of money this year, I'm likely not going to buy any presents with it. My sister got me a gift (a 20 CD visor for my car) but I have no use for it. I bought the same visor more than a year ago, but have yet to use it because I already have one (not for holding CD's) in my car. If I put the CD one on the other side of the car, my friends would keep playing with it.

Besides, I'm clueless as to what she'd want anyway.

At the grocery store, I ran into a friend from high school. The first thing he did was compliment my hair and I realized it had been at least a few months since he had last seen it. We talked for about 15 minutes. I found out he's engaged to a woman who is going to school to be a nurse. She also has a child. He's not even 20 yet.

Is he ready for this? Is anyone ready for this?

Maybe it is because secretly I am a little more cynical and non-trusting towards relationships since T.E.N.T. and Angie. Maybe if I can't find happiness, I don't want anyone else to either. Why else would that explain my blood boiling whenever I see two people holding hands?

Regardless, this now makes a whole slew of people who are either on the verge of marriage or are going through major changes exactly 18 months after graduation.

In talking to him, I learned a little too much information. He has the tendency to do that. It was nice to talk to him though. It's not often that I run into friends from high school, even after going to a grocery store where many of them work.

Tomorrow The Oddities minus one (me) leave to Vegas on their way to San Diego. It'll be B and Jesse's second trip together to San Diego in five months. G was supposed to go last time, but things like a lack of money and our upcoming wrestling match prevented him from going. It caused a minor riff in the group for a time as it was one of the rare times B and G were mad at each other.

He (G) dropped by to pick up a car CD player adapter a few hours ago, and took the one of the two I didn't want him to take. I didn't want to say no though. I wasn't about to give up my MP3 player though. I did agree to bid on eBay items for him even though he has a web browser on his phone.

In a lot of ways I'm glad I'm not going. I don't talk to Domo or Jesse as much as B or G. Plus, the next trip I go on will be on my terms. Like I said, I really need the freedom. It'll be like going downtown or taking the bus by myself for the first time all over again.

Now all I need is to get that damn job and a new car and decide on a destination for this summer.

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin