May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

June 07, 2002 // 10:42 p.m. // Gradumanation

I hit the graduation circuit today, as I know a select handful of seniors who were sophomores when I graduated. I decided to park and walk rather than take any kind of public transportation.

As I had no admission ticket to watch the proceedings live and in person, I threw my leather jacket down on the grass, put on my headphones, and opened a fresh journal. I had no problem filling 13 more pages in addition to the 30 I filled earlier today. 43 pages of journal. Had they been composed in one journal, I would have filled more than a fifth of it in one day.

I waited for people I knew to emerge from the building. I caught quite a few of them, many of them I had not seen since I graduated two years ago.

None surprised me more than Alysha. None of us expected she would graduate on time after problems she experienced. But she perservered. I caught her as she was leaving and in quite the hurry. She gave me a hug and I congratulated her.

I also caught Hailey and Mandie (who I had not seen in years) as well as a few drama kids, weekend crew members and even Domo, who was decked out in his Marine attire, was there to see his brother graduate.

I saw so many people that I knew, but the two year (sometimes more) gap made things seem a little awkward at times. But I caught up with a lot of people and saw many more I didn't have a chance to speak to. It seems everyone's in a hurry...

It looks like I'll be making a lot of phone calls or sending out a lot of cards in the next few days. I have suspicions many of those calls will start like this:

"Is _____ there?"

"This is she."

"Hi. This is Jason."

"Um...hi?"

"Jason from East. The one who (insert example on how they'd remember me here)"

"Oh, yeah! I remember. How's it going?"

"Not bad. Congratulations on graduating."

"Thanks."

So goes another graduating class. I feel so old. Just two years ago I was there graduating. Now the kids who were freshman during my senior year will be graduating next year.

Which reminds me. I think Angie is graduating this year. Remind me not to send a card.

Jas

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie