November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

May 16, 2004 // 11:23 a.m. // My car

My car is kind of a mess. And I don't mean it's not tidy. It's that too, but there are other things, most very minor that I'm working with.

For one, the temperature reading on the console kept acting up, but I think it's back to normal after months of telling me it was about 10 degrees warmer than normal. I've driven at the warmest times of the day and if the high is 86, it'll read 84. If the morning news says it's 45 in the morning, the console now will reflect a temperature within three degrees of it, leading me to believe it sort of fixed itself.

I need an oil change. I glanced up at the sticker and realized I should have had it changed 400-500 miles ago. I forgot about the Boise trip (700 miles), which is probably why I hit just over 3,000 miles in 2 1/2 months. I'll get it changed when I get my emissions and inspection done early this week.

But before this? I need to buy brakepads because I've had lights flashing, "check brakes" in two different places all year. It's not that my brakes are bad, the pads are probably just worn. And it won't pass with those blinking lights. Unless it's a sensor problem like the temperature was.

Oh yeah. Cleaning out the trunk. I should have done it last night while putting my spare in, but I was (for some reason) watching a movie on ABC Family called, "Celeste In The City." All I know is this movie followed "Girls Just Want To Have Fun", an 80's movie featuring Sarah Jessica Parker. I don't think having a movie called Celeste In The City following a movie with Parker was a coincidence.

The exterior of the high school in Girls reminded me of the way my school looked before it was torn down, mainly due to the school not being earthquake safe. I have a yearbook from ten years ago that has dozens of pictures of the 82 year-old school in its last years. It was just a nice looking building.

Before:

After:

As my sister pointed out, it "looked like a castle." At least there are still a few 70+ year-old schools around, including hers.

Back to my original point...

And then there's the stereo. I'm generally good with car stereo stuff, but I had a hard time crossing wires and bypassing the factory amplifier today. I did end up getting it to work (it took me 45 minutes) but I had to buy a $17 adapter at Wal-Mart. A small price to pay to keep my speakers from sounding like they're blown. Basically, stereo + amp = too much power for the speakers, so this eliminated the power from the amp.

I think that's it for Car Chat. Tune in tomorrow when I explain to you how to remove blood from a jacket you haven't worn in four years even when you're not sure how it got there or if it's even blood.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin