November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

February 26, 2003 // 2:13 p.m. // The answer is Africa

I'm beginning to wonder if it was smart to choose going to school at Weber State.

Aside from the school being 30 miles away and the weather and traffic always being unpredictable, the people in my class (at least those answering questions) aren't the brightest bulbs in the box, especially in my geography class.

Some of them think the reason why there is so much smog in Mexico City is because there is no rain. I think I know what he means to say, but he phrased his answer quite wrong.

Some of them tell the teacher that the equator is in the wrong spot. By wrong, I mean off by a good 1000 or more miles. Others are off by miles on the ethnic makeup of countries, even though they've lived there.

The best one came today, when we got into small groups to discuss why the life expectancy in Africa is so low.

There are obvious answers, right? The AIDS epidemic is sweeping through the country. Terrible health care, poor drinking water, war and unsanitary conditions.

Do you want to know what the first two responses given were? Heat exposure and wild animals. You know, because it's like totally hot there and they must think animals run free through the villages like white tigers at a Siegfried and Roy show. Have they not heard of the AIDS problem? Fortunately, we had a whole series of slides giving info on just how bad things are.

If nothing else, my classmates keep me entertained. Afterall, it was this class in which one girl's contribution to the world news was Norah Jones winning five Grammys.

Yep. Every morning at eight I'm entertained. With responses like these, wouldn't you be?

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin