November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021
XV - April 04, 2016

June 11, 2002 // 7:17 p.m. // June 11th recap

I'm feeling much better right now. Much calmer. I took a break from being online, and somehow (and I really don't know how) was able to think less about all that is stressing me out. I'll give you a run down of the day...

8:00 Headed to Airwaves for my patented vanilla smoothie. Who else goes to a coffee shop and gets a smoothie at 8 in the morning? The only bad thing? The new girl cannot make a smoothie without adding mocha. She just doesn't know how. So every smoothie I have will be laced with a coffee aftertaste. It makes me yearn for the days when Cass worked behind the counter. But even she had her bad days.

I headed down the street to a park a few blocks away with four journals, and sat against a tree. Not even neccesarily to write, but to reflect. Or to avoid thinking about what's stressing me out, rather. It worked quite well.

I wrote a few poems before I had to head home to take my sister to drivers education. After refueling the car, I headed back to the park to relax some more. Only I wasn't having as much fun as I should have been, either because of or in spite of the fact that I sat and read a journal I kept 1 1/2 years ago.

10:45ish Head home.

(insert Jeopardy! music, as I did nothing of interest for the next 10 hours)

8:30 Leave for Barnes & Noble to pick up a book that I had just seen a commercial for, but didn't know was out yet. Upon arriving to the section of the store I needed to be, I saw a person sitting on the floor, back to the shelf right in front of where I needed to be.

You know when two people need to be in the same place at the same time, whether it be to pick up a CD or a book or something, and the other person sees this and usually steps to the side? This guy didn't budge. He didn't even look up. So I practically went on one leg to reach over him to grab what I needed. I decided that while I was there, I would check out some of the music books as well, since the shelf I was at was just around the corner.

I looked down the aisle. It was like a train wreck. Bodies were all over the narrow aisle. Sitting. laying down. All not paying attention to the traffic jam they would cause should someone decide to pick up the latest biography on Britney Spears or Kurt Cobain.

I was tempted to stay and watch people's reactions when they saw what I saw, but I still had to get to one more store. Plus, I was growing annoyed at everyone staring at me. My guess is it wasn't because of the "looks like you just woke up" clothing I was wearing.

While in line, I heard, "I love your hair" from someone. It didn't register right away that she was talking to me, so my reaction was quite delayed.

"Thanks." It was coming from the lady behind the counter at the register next to me.

It's odd, but it kind of made my day. Even moreso than when Polo said it last week. By this time I was no longer feeling stressed, but I felt better just the same.

A few more stops along the way, and I headed home.

And I only now realize just how boring this entry was. Where's my sister to stop me? Oh yeah, that's right. She's learning to drive. And if you've ever watched a younger sibling learn to drive, you know what I'm going through.

That'll be the topic of my next entry.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin