November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 22, 2003 // 7:25 a.m. // Elliott Smith: "I'm looking at a hand full of broken plans"

**********************************************************

One of the four pages I visit and refresh on a consistant basis is the message board at rilokiley.net. I perused the subject, and came across another Elliott Smith topic.

I clicked on it and was shocked to read that Elliott died yesterday. This amazing musician that had produced so many amazing songs is gone. Later note: I found this article when I came home from school which confirmed it for me.

Essentially Elliott stopped regular touring a few years ago, and I was incredibly surprised to see that he was playing a free show at the University Of Utah last month. Based on all of the info I've found, it was his last. The fact that he was playing here and it was only his fourth or fifth show of the year was amazing enough. Adding free to that was unbelievable.

I sang, I requested, I had a great time. I only wish I had broke security rules or tried harder for an autograph. He didn't play Son Of Sam or Alameda (a song I relate to lyrically) but he played Waltz #2 which may have been the highlight of the night. The lyric, "I'm never gonna know you now but I'm gonna love you anyhow" is among my favorites.

I'm just so surprised by all of this. I think everyone is. I don't know which way to toss my emotions.

For those who want a biting "farewell" song, you can try Somebody That I Used To Know or, Easy Way Out especially due to the apparent cause of his death. I'm posting the lyrics to I Better Be Quiet Now, because it's an excellent song, and a song of his that's on my mind right now. The lyrics are wonderful and his performance of it was excellent. Plus it's a bit of a farewell song, I suppose.

Elliott Smith, I Better Be Quiet Now

Wish you gave me your number
Wish I could call you today, just to hear a voice
I got a long way to go
I'm getting further away

If I didn't know the difference
Living alone'd probably be ok
It wouldn't be lonely
I got a long way to go
I'm getting further away

A lot of hours to occupy
It was easy when I didn't know you yet
Things I'd have to forget

But I better be quiet now
I'm tired of wasting my breath
Carrying on and getting upset

Maybe I have a problem
But that's not what I wanted to say
I'd prefer to say nothing
I got a long way to go
I'm getting further away

Had a dream as an Army man
With an order just to march in my place
While a dead enemy screams in my face

But I better be quiet now
I'm tired of wasting my breath
Carrying on, not over it yet

Wish I knew what you're doing
And why you want to do it this way
So I can't go the distance
I got a long way to go
I'm getting further away
I got a long way to go
I'm getting further away

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin