May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

June 03, 2002 // 7:17 a.m. // Just you and me, kid

Today was supposed to be a great day. Hours of phone conversations, a long hot morning bath, a day at the computer, a afternoon of cleaning my room, tons of time in my journal...

And do I need to tell you that there is a "but" following this?

It's 7:00, and my mom isn't dressed for work. She usually leaves at 7:00. I didn't give it a second thought. I didn't even realize what time it was. In fact it didn't even hit me until she said these words:

Just you and me, kid. (shudders)

Yes, that's right. As the school year comes to a close, I must quickly realize that my parents will soon be home all of the time.

They're teachers. Which as great as it is to be a teacher, it's a bittersweet profession for their children.

It's great because you have the entire summer free. There is no need for one or both of the parents to take time off for a family summer vacation.

But that's the same thing that makes it a nightmare.

Your parents are always home. You can't have the house to yourself at anytime. Not to mention, no parties because my parents have never gone out of town. I'm serious. They never have just left for a few days on a vacation. Never. Not even once. No exaggeration.

And you know all of those non-federal long school holidays like winter, Thanksgiving and Easter breaks? They suddenly don't seem so fun when you have to spend them with your parents, do they?

To make matters worse, my mom never learned to drive. Until four years ago, my dad was the only person in the house with a license. With my sister getting hers in about a month, it means less driving for me.

And they always know when it's report card day. And they always know everything.

"Just you and me, kid."

If you don't mind, I may cancel all of those things, and retire to my room. Either that, or just spend the day sitting in the park.

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie