May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

April 13, 2002 // 8:31 p.m. // Seeing ex-crushes

I'm beginning to think that my friends egg cars like they are attracted to girls: anything they see they want.

So was the case last Friday when we rolled through the upper east side of Salt Lake egging random cars. A childish game I know, but last week was the first night I participated in.

I hit Mustangs, BMW's and other such out of my league cars. Brian, Jesse and Woody also participated, but they were hitting anything and everything. While waiting for Woody to catch up, a woman caught Brian and Jesse's eyes. She was driving a new Lexus (which would make me drool more than her) and they were enamored by this woman that was maybe average looking at best. They never even saw her face, only becoming turned off when they saw her smoking.

That, and the fact that she wasn't even attractive were my turnoffs.

I'm serious. My friends are attracted to anyone female. Especially Woody. He'll find a half dozen "hot" women a night.

Did I mention that both Jesse and Brian have girlfriends? That care about them? And they're doing this? I'm attracted to Brian's girlfriend's sense of humor. Jesse's girl (Tweety) was a former crush. If they're going to act like that, they might as well be with me :)

As for last night, we went to the union building, where everyone reprised their traditional roles. G and I played air hockey. Woody picked the music- (Creed, Green Day, Seal) and then lost at air hockey and B, Jesse and Brian played pool.

I ran into former crush C-Lee.

I didn't want to run into her. I never do. I've seen her everywhere lately. We never even make eye contact. I saw her at a counter, and gasped. A few minutes later, G sent me to the counter for change, I forgot she was still there, and I saw her. I tried not to make eye contact.

"Two quarters, please."

"Jason!"

"Oh hi."

"I haven't seen you since you had short hair and were in creative writing class. I like your hair."

"Thanks."

"Are you still writing?"

"No, I don't do it as much as I used to. Without a creative writing class, it's hard to get into writing."

"Yeah, I just use my creative writing training to write papers. I just BS and get an A. Like in anthropology I do that."

I wanted to keep talking to her. She wasn't the bitch that she was three weeks after we went to the holiday dance together in late 1999. She was behaving normal. The way she acted before 2000 began. For the next months, we rarely spoke, and she was one of my best buddies in journalism and creative writing. She then came and talked to Jesse while I played air hockey.

The rest of the night: spent comparing each other's stereo systems while at Del Taco and watching Woody and Jesse off-road in their respective Jeep's.

I'm still not sure if we'll do anything tonight. The last three or four Saturday's we haven't, with last Saturday being cancelled due to B not being able to start until 11 or 12. I wasn't about to start the night that late, especially on daylight savings time night.

Note to self: next time discuss almost getting new car, today's trip to Ogden.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie