November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

September 27, 2004 // 2:49 p.m. // Get in line

My head decided to go into some weird funky kind of thought process almost two weeks ago, which explains why I've gone a record eleven days without updating. Whenever I looked at this page on the screen (which was rare) I had a new idea for an entry, and even wrote some out with pen and paper.

My first idea? To put up one of two quotations (or is it quotes?) that a girl named Vanessa said on the 16th. They sparked off such an epiphany in my head, that I immediately pulled out my notebook and started writing them down while she was still saying the second. I wish I could find what she actually said. I know it's in a mini notebook, but I can't find that specific one. I swear I typed it or posted it somewhere, but I guess I didn't.

My second idea was to review the new fall shows from my perspective. Laugh if you want, but I watch the WB Friday night lineup, in addition to two other shows on the channel. I still may do this, because it was entertaining to me, even if it isn't to anyone else. The key to all of the shows: Cheating, affairs and making the same mistake twice.

So I guess those were my only two big ideas.

I went to a street fair last weekend. I go every year because local radio station KRCL has a CD/record sale, and I stock up. This year I spent $57, which may not sound like a lot, but is considering the CD's are just $2.50 apiece and singles were $1. I also take advantage of this yearly event to pick up CD's that I know I can resell for more than I paid for them. This year's big winners: A Jeff Buckley CD I paid a dollar for that was shut down by ebay because (and I'm not kidding about this) the estate of Jeff Buckley emailed them about it since it was a promo single. It was up to $5.50 after a few hours, and I received an offer to buy it for $20. There were two other CD's that I paid $2.50 each for that are (with a little over a day remaining) up to $9.50 and $15.50. With that CD that's up to $15.50, I knew I should have bought the other three that they had for sale because I knew I could resell them since they're so hard to find. When I went back later in the day, they were closing up and I missed my chance.

I also missed my chance to pick up a still sealed copy of a bluegrass tribute to Metallica. No, I wouldn't have listened to it. That bad boy would've gone right on ebay.

I did get to go to a couple of concerts in the last few weeks. In order, the photos are The Only Children, Death Cab For Cutie and my friend Jan's CD release extravaganza. I think I'll save the Sum 41 story for the next one.

The final photo below was taken at The Pie restaurant when some friends and I went to dinner after The Only Children concert. The band came in to eat as we were leaving, which was cool. The cooler thing was Heidi recognized me from a year ago when she came through with her other band. I didn't even say anything other than "hi" and she replied with, "weren't you at the Some Girls show?"

I'm waiting for my camera to arrive so that I don't have to borrow one every time I want to take pictures.

P.S. I just watched most of the first Rocky movie today. I just realized that it's a great movie up until the Apollo Creed fight. (And even as I type this, he's screaming, "Adrian!")

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin