May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

June 17, 2002 // 8:26 a.m. // The Get Up Kids show recap

Jason presents...

His long awaited recap of the concert of...

The concert was at Brick's, which is more of a club than a concert venue in the quickly revitilizing area of downtown west of the Delta Center. I do like the fact that the club has a roof over it, but the concert area is like a giant uncovered patio. No doubt a great place to dance on a weekend, because the inside of the club has no personality. It's like a giant unfurnished room.

I arrived late, still had no ticket, and I saw two lines had formed. I assumed one was for those with tickets, and one was for those without. Of course it never occured for me to ask someone, but as it turned out, the single line that forked into two just in front of me had no discernable difference. Just a collection of people that somehow formed two lines.

Doors opened at 6:00. I arrived at about 5:55. This meant I was the last person in line.

At about 6:15-ish, I felt like I was at Smith's getting Olympic tickets when it was announced that the line to get in would begin not at the door, but at a spot about 20 people in front of me, and about 50 people after the first in line. Don't ask me why. It made no sense to me.

And neither did the annoucement by "security." And I'm quoting almost verbatim:

"Alright. You can't have any video cameras, recording devices. Just regular cameras. Point and shoot shit. And no sharp shit. Also, if you have any Bic pens or wallets, you should just take those back to your car."

I was so about to say something sarcastic as I waited there in line, but I didn't. Instead, I just walked back to my car (which was only ten feet away. Thank god I had the Pontiac and was able to fight into the tiny parking spot between the big SUV and the dumpster.) and put my cell phone away.

But I wasn't about to put my wallet in the car.

Or my Bic pens.

I write down the setlist of every concert I go to. Of course unless you have an amazing memory, you have to write it down as the songs are played.

So after suddenly finding out these items were a form of contraband, I waited until security had their backs turned, and slipped the pens into my shoe. I made it through fine. But getting to the shoe when The Get Up Kids were about to play and the crowd packed together was another story.

The opening band (before Hot Rod Circuit, the other opening band) was Audio Learning Center. After their set, they threw their guitar picks into the crowd, as well as their drum sticks.

Now, the drummer did the whole tease at throwing it out into the crowd. He was standing just to my left, and as always when something is being thrown into a crowd, I avoid acting like I care about the item even if I really want it.

But this is a Get Up Kids show. Where the kids barely get up over 5'8" (rimshot). I'm at or over six feet with longer arms than they. So when the stick was flicked high into the air with a dozens or more hands reaching for it, I had no problem snagging it away from those around me at least three to four inches shorter than I. In hindsight, all I had to do was make sure my hand didn't get bumped and that I caught it and it was mine.

And it didn't hurt that it nearly flew into my hands either.

The show goes on. I have a good spot four or so rows from the front. But the lead singer decided to take the stage left microphone rather than the one in the center. It didn't matter. I got bumped and pushed all over that crowd from left to right from front to back and back again six or seven times. Every time I returned to my original song, they'd kick into something like, "I'm a Loner Dottie, A Rebel" and I'd end up almost caught in the 2000 version of the mosh pit.

But awesome show. I love singing along to songs, especially to those that I feel.

Merchandise stand. I always go crazy with merchandise. I waited at least 20 minutes to make my way to the front.

An itemized list:

  • Three t-shirts. Two from The Get Up Kids, one from Hot Rod Circuit. I'm not a fan of the color of TGUK shirts, but hey, emo kids have less traditional "style" than I do, right? Cost: $42.

  • Six pins. Three from TGUK, three from HRC. Cost: $6.

  • Two bumper stickers and a 18"x24" tour poster. Cost: $12.

  • And don't forget the drum stick I caught. Cost: Priceless.

And I mention the girl behind me who played with my hair as I awaited my turn at the merchandise stand only because it's important for a later entry.

She's all touching my hair, and I suddenly realize it's not an accident. She wasn't just moving her purse or arm or something and happened to bump me. These were fingers and a hand.

"Sorry. I couldn't resist."

A little forward of her, but I didn't mind. When have I ever minded women being forward with me? I just wondered why she paid me this attention and then left.

But I told you that's for a later entry, right? Right.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie