November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

February 09, 2005 // 10:35 p.m. // Did you hear that?

I realize that I've totally neglected this lately. I have a handful of stories to tell, though no patience to articulate them.

Perhaps my favorite of these stories is how there was a loud high pitched sound identical to what you would get if you went to a loud event that left your ears ringing.

This sound persisted throughout the night. It began sometime around the third or fourth song by the opening band, which I remember because I looked at my watch when my friend showed up. The sound even caused people in the crowd (and even worse, the artist on stage) to ask what it was, and led everyone to believe it was an instrument feeding back. Everyone (including me) was annoyed by this, as it persisted throughout the show.

It didn't stop after the show ended either. In fact, the only time I heard it disappear was when I set my camera down. I made a mental note of this, but didn't put much thought into it.

You may have caught on to where I'm going with this.

When I walked outside to my car, I still heard it. And in my car, I still heard it. I put my camera up to my ear, and again it got louder. It wasn't my cell phone, it wasn't a result of my ears ringing (as everyone heard it) and it wasn't some crazy device I had that caused it.

Or was it?

Finally, I realized (after hearing the sound grow closer and then further) that it was my watch that had created the ruckus. That explained why the sound went away when I put my camera down, and therefore away from my ear. You see, when I attempted to press the button that lights up the face of the watch, I must've accidentally pressed the alarm button, since after this happened, I spent a few minutes trying to bring my watch display back to normal. I was finally able to shut off the loud high-pitched alarm three hours after it started when I held all four buttons at the same time. I certainly wouldn't recommend it while driving on a loop on the freeway, but it *was* driving me crazy.

And that was my fun little story about how I made my impact on the Tres Chicas/Tift Merritt show. Well, that and having her walk over to me, stand right in front of me while looking me in the eyes and saying, "look at this. You're as tall as me!" when she was a bit surprised that despite being on stage and me being on the floor, she was just inches taller than many of us.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin