November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

April 20, 2003 // 12:52 a.m. // Morning could be interesting

Ok. My mom is usually the official waker-upper of my dad and I due to her usually being asleep by 8:30 and waking up at the ridiculous hour of 3:30. She went to Denver with my sister without so much as a word to me, and aside from that, this meant I had to rely on my dad (who is a notorious sleeper) to wake me up every morning due to me being terrible with alarms. He has to wake up every morning at 4:30 (an hour earlier than me) but for years he's relied on my mom to wake him up.

He's done an oustanding job. He hasn't once been late in waking me up or more surprisingly, waking up himself. He even makes sure I'm awake and at least sitting up and not just saying "I'm awake" with my head half-buried in a pillow.

But as of now, my dad isn't here. It isn't like him to be out this late. In fact, I don't ever remember him being out this late. If I have to wake myself up on my own later this morning after receiving less than three hours of sleep last night and looking at just over four tonight, this spells trouble. I'll have to set my watch, my phone and my alarm clock just to have a chance of waking up. If you're a betting man/woman, I'd certainly bet against me waking up.

Later note: 12:46. Just called his cell phone and he's on his way home. The only problem: I'll have to set all of these things anyway, because combined we're both looking at less than eight hours of sleep. Looks like I may have to wake him up for a change.

12:58. And now he's home. The story: He went out to fix a computer at one, but the people were waiting for the cable man to get there. So he went back out at five, fixed it and then watched the Utah Jazz/Sacramento Kings playoff game in their basement, which apparently looks like a golden-aged person's version of a house on Cribs due to it having a flat screen HDTV (the largest they make) theater seating and surround sound (my dad is so impressed by surround sound. This was probably his favorite feature.) A direct quote from my dad: "They probably have $25,000 invested in that room."

But anyway, he had to drive everyone home because he was the only one who wasn't drinking, and if you know how small a Jeep Wrangler is, you know how few people you can take at a time. He said it was worth it. Not only did he get $125 for an extremely simple task, he also got to watch the game in theater seats.

I think tomorrow I'm going to show him the car I'm interested in to see if we can't once and for all get rid of the issues I have with my current one. He seems eager to get me a car (doing so much as to keep his eye out for one for me) so this could be good. Besides, I'm hoping the guilt trip of "you-guys-bought-my-sister-a-car-for-the-same-price-and-it-had-90,000-more-miles-on-it-and-I'm-not-even-asking-you-to-pay for-it-so-how-can-you-go-wrong?" will work to my advantage.

Sometimes I can be so persuasive with my logic.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin