May's theme:"We're old enough by now to take care of each other"
A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | guestbook | profile

2001 albums | 2002 albums | 2003 albums

concertmine | mail | host | older

Jason recommends the album, Wreck Of The Day by Anna Nalick

Welcome back?? - April 04, 2012
- - August 20, 2009
Dog Bites Man (Once Bitten, Twice Shy) - December 31, 2006
Randomness - July 20, 2005
Portland and Seattle - June 30, 2005

June 20, 2002 // 1:14 p.m. // McD's and help please

The daily trip to the local McDonalds is always an adventure. Case in point: Today.

The local McD's has a double drive thru, which is supposed to make things more convienient for lunch time. If you enter from the east, it's easier to pull into one drive thru lane, and if you enter from the west, it's easier to pull into the other. Of course, the west entrance one is the original, and is the one closest to the actual McD's.

I strongly dislike the "new" drive thru and the way you have to merge when you order. Because of this, I always pull into the original, even if it means having to navigate the Taurus in a weird way to make the tight turn.

But today, since the line was so long in the original drive thru, I pulled into the secondary one.

So I order. The usual. Four cheeseburgers, sans a drink. They're cheaper at the 7-11 anyway.

I see the painted path for those in this new drive thru. I look left. Consider merging. I look ahead. Consider staying in that lane.

And I decided to go straight.

Big mistake.

The second lane is only a "non-merging lane" when the lunch hour is extremely busy. I was supposed to have merged. But where am I now?

On the main road in front of the McDonalds.

See. Right here? This is where you are all supposed to laugh at me for doing something so stupid.

Realizing my mistake, I made a quick right turn into the business next to it, raced through their parking lot, pulled into McD's, and merged into the lane. Only, I was about three cars later than I should have been, which would no doubt screw up their ordering process.

I don't think I have to tell you again that I was embarrassed by this.

_________________________________________________________

Earlier today:

(From the front door to me in my room) "Jas, you need to take out the blue garbage can."

She was standing right by it, but asked, demanded that I take it out. For the record, the garbage can was mere feet from being "out." It was just on the other side of my car, meaning I only had to move it about five feet.

Frustration. Totally. Especially since she could have done it herself, as she wheeled out the other two cans within the hour Not that I'm trying to sound lazy, but still.

And moments ago, she picked up my Big Gulp Coke thinking it was hers. This was on her trip back from the refrigerator after putting hers away.

Save me, please.

Thankfully, the family is out of the house for the second time today to take my sister to physical therapy. I can't stand being in the same room as my mom lately. If I come home from McDonald's or anywhere and I see her in the living room, I walk through the room as quickly as I can. If I leave my room to use the computer and she's at one of them, I go back to my room. The same thing for when she comes into the too small of a room to change the channel and watch the news for about four minutes before forgetting it was on, leaving me to change it back.

I need a vacation. Better yet, I need to find a job and/or move. Being a teacher has its perks, but not if you're the child of not just one, but two. 64 more days with the whole family home.

Goody.

Jason

Last time on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin



Which Ani DiFranco Album Are You?
Brought to you by Tracie