November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

January 08, 2004 // 7:28 p.m. // I'll be Simon Cowell sans the accent

Salt Lake is holding their annual South by Southwest (SXSW) contest in which forty bands at eight clubs pay on the same night to battle it out for the title of the best band (that signed up for the contest) in Salt Lake. Later is a semifinal round and then a final round in which the winning band will be flown to Austin Texas to showcase its talents for the likes of Ani Difranco and other powerful music people.

So anyway, the thing is Saturday, and needs volunteers. I emailed the person responsible thinking I'd be someone who passes stuff out, and she told me I could be a judge! I feel a bit like Paula Abdul minus the Laker girl dance training and the rapping animated cat. (If you have no clue what I mean, leave a comment :))

I think we'll just listen to the bands, write down comments and then get together to decide on a winner. Really, it'll be like a glorified jury duty sans the sequestering but complete with the, "you're crazy! How can you think that?" comments.

I had really wanted to test out the digital camera that I got today (that will be sold at the end of the week to buy one I like more) at the shows, but I guess judging is a cool gig too.

Full report on this later.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin