January's theme:"So take a deep breath and count back from ten/And maybe you'll be alright" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, Girly-sound Tapes by Liz Phair

A Change Will Do You Good - January 11, 2022
The one where an Olivia Rodrigo song cuts deep on Christmas morning. - January 07, 2022
Recapping a friendship #3 - December 30, 2021
The one where I have more fun than I should singing along to Lorde. - December 24, 2021
Recapping a friendship #2 - December 22, 2021

August 25, 2002 // 8:59 p.m. // T-minus eleven hours until junior year

First of all, today was Aaliyah music, 100%. I played her self-titled album, and was surprised I wasn't the only person to remember it was a year ago today that she died. The song that received the most play? I Refuse. I'm feeling it for some reason, and it's not just the lyrics.

Now, for the actual entry...

Somebody emailed me today asking what happened to my more personal entries. You see, I've been holding them in lately, because I realize that my journal has been incredibly angsty since May or so. Not that there is anything wrong with it, but I got sick of composing them, and even recounting certain events affected my mood.

Put up with one more so-so entry, will you all?

Tomorrow is the first day of school. I cannot begin to tell you how long this summer has felt, though due to the Olympics, it was a week shorter than last. If you thought you got bored after a three month vacation in grade school, imagine adding another month onto that, with an extra two weeks of winter vacation. I'm in favor of a vacation as much as the next person, but sometimes this is just too much.

It feels too incredibly weird that as of tomorrow I am a college junior. It feels like just yesterday I was a high school senior.

Tomorrow I'll be walking into classes full of rugby shirted kids, half of whom are married according to the school's paper. I cannot begin to tell you how discouraging and disturbing that is. It'll also mean a whole new year of unpredictable weather, long drives, snow like you wouldn't believe, and of course, crushes. Look for tons of ridiculous crushes.

As I've learned, the first week is always a mess with parking and schedules and commuting, which means I'll have to leave at least 20 minutes early. That's right, kids. For the first week or two, I'll be leaving my house to go to school before 6:30. Sometimes it's enough to make me wonder why I chose the far away college rather than the local one. But I'm a junior. I'm actually a college junior. I now have been there long enough to know the campus (minus the vending machines which always get moved/replaced) and have no problem getting around.

And I can't believe I bought a ton of school supplies, more than I can ever use.

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin