November's/December's theme:"We diverge and I collapse into my bed/And you are shoved awkwardly into my head" A Separate Lid Behind Closed Eyes

notes | profile

mail | host | older I random entry

Jason recommends the album, American Weekend by Waxahatchee

Extra doses and double shots - December 13, 2021
Half a life ago - December 12, 2021
Buggy - November 27, 2021
When We Two Parted - November 25, 2021
Catfish - November 22, 2021

October 22, 2001 // 3:39 p.m. // Saturday night

The only reason there was no entry yesterday is my dad was on the computer from prime time-after midnight.

With that, Saturday was an adventure.

It was the first day we had done anything since Saturday's disagreement. Despite this, we still went bowling, where another bet was made. If I lossed, I planned on going through with it unlike I did weeks ago.

We bowled this time, and feeling sure of my chances, the bet was decided that whoever lost would have to sit in the "Ring of Ghosts" for three minutes.

The Ring of Ghosts is a front yard display with three homemade ghosts holding hands. Each one is about three feet tall. In the dark, it's a scary sight. I have yet to see them during the day.

I ended up losing and the bet (not a dare) was on. The plan for all of this was as follows: The two of them would drive up the street or around the block, and I was to call them to say "I'm G's bitch, I'm B's bitch, I'm the Oddities bitch." They'd then swing back down and pick me up.

We drove past once, discussed the above plan, came back down and one of the lights had suddenly turned on in the house. I refused to do it while people in the house were awake, so we came back ten minutes later and I followed through on the bet.

As soon as I stepped out of the car, onto their property and into this circle, I noticed that my phone was off. I turned it on and while shaking, I dialed G's number and recited my little speech three times. I hung up, noted I had been on the phone for 1:28 and sat quietly for the next two minutes.

These ghosts looked more lifelike in person than from a distance. On all sides of me no more than 18 inches away were these eyes staring back a me. Plus since they were so tall, it appeared they were looking down at me.

It was made worse by the fact that my mind ran wild. There was a sheriff's department and a neighborhood watch sign across the street. I heard noises of people who were still awake from inside the house. I also saw a van from down the street load up and I feared it'd drive past me and stop. Fortunately it took another route, but it returned minutes later with the occupants exiting and looking in my direction. They may have seen me. The surrounding ghosts didn't hide my hair or my bright yellow jersey.

They finally came back and still freaked out, we headed down to the local Sears where we met with B's friends to go to a party. Immediately, G and I felt unwanted, so when B called with the option of cruising State Street next to Steve or going to the party, we chose neither. We drove past the party twice, then down to State Street before returning up near 7-11 to get something to eat. Nearly 45 minutes after we last saw him, B got a ride to 7-11 with a friend and we resumed "hanging out." At this point, it was probably about midnight.

We drove to the union building parking lot, left when suspicious lights came on, drove up near the hospital and got food. We drove for another 45 minutes at least before calling it a night. Between that and Park City Saturday, I drove 160 miles, 110 of that being in the city on Saturday night. That's really about all we did was drive for five hours.

And we did get in another mini-argument over Randi.

Random Wallflowers lyric:

"I guess I should be ashamed

But I forget to be vain

Well I did the best I could I guess

But everything just bleeds

They say you're only sad and lonely

And no one is impressed"

-Bleeders

Jason

Previously on Apexsensatin : Now on Apex : Apex Archives : Next time on Apexsensatin